Day 45 - Slowly Going Crazy


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I miss the strangest things from home. Like frozen juice. They don’t have frozen juices here! Do they realize how hot it is here? Frozen lemonade would be really nice! Don’t even get me started on the lemonade they do have here, Mr Clean anyone? Mmm refreshing.

I miss ginger ale. They have dry ginger ale here, which kind of tastes like Canada Dry but made with rotten ginger.

I miss bagels. The few bagels I have found here taste odd, kind of sour.

I miss tomato sauce in a can! The grocery store here, Coles, sells their “brand” of tomato sauce but they are the only ones, and it comes in a jar, which is fine, but they have been sold out for weeks! How am I supposed to make pasta sauce?

I miss my car! Oh starshine, you beautiful Pontiac sunfire... Not that I don’t love carrying home groceries on the bus... or a microwave and a vacuum.

I miss cinnamon flavoured things, gum, toothpaste, mouthwash. I hate mint!

I miss having art on my walls. Our place has boring mushroom coloured walls and aside from our projection screen (a white shower curtain) and 2 clocks (Vancouver time and Sydney time) our walls are blank.

Of course I miss my family, friends, my cat. Shhhh don’t tell Seal, but in a year we might get a kitten... maybe... if we’re allowed to... and can afford it...

I miss my parents brand new washer and dryer... man those were nice! Not that the used ones we bought aren’t... nice


I miss having a dishwasher! Our should be getting fixed... still waiting, its only been 3 weeks.

I miss cable. Although going to bed is really easy when you don’t have any tv to watch.

I miss having an income! Gotta find a job fast!

I miss the clothes I left behind. I keep thinking “oh I’ll wear that - wait, oh yeah its at home”

I miss being grossed out by spiders instead of cockroaches.

I guess I miss Canada.

I don’t miss the cold, the rain, the snow.

I don’t miss the cat fur.

I don’t miss pumping gas.

I don’t miss Ryan’s basement suite.

I REALLY don’t miss Ryan’s sofa.

I don’t miss my small closet.

I don’t miss frost in the morning. I hated scraping my windshield.

I don’t miss Texas. What a crappy neighbour he is, enjoy mom and dad!

I don’t miss the traffic noise of 8th Avenue.

I don’t miss traffic.

Hmmm maybe I don’t miss Canada so much.

Advertisement



23rd March 2010

Gingerale!
I feel your pain! I finally found gingerale in the UK and it was the strongest, most nasty tasting shit ever. I did eventually find Canada Dry, though, so there's still hope! That's really weird about the tomato sauce, though...

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb