The Dog Whisperer


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
December 14th 2009
Published: December 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 402


It was a peaceful night until about 5.00 this morning when the dogs barked, but that must be because Robert and Helen are up and about. It seems that Andy’s dog whispering may have had the desired affect, although a little bit more work on Tiny wouldn’t go amiss.

Andy as usual was out before me, but a cup of tea appeared just before 7.00 for which I was truly grateful, I needed to be up and about early this morning as we are heading into Wagga Wagga, with Helen and a huge list of chores.

I got ready, had some breakfast and everyone was ready to go, Andy and I followed Helen in her car as she is dropping it off at the garage today to have the air conditioning fixed, if there is one thing that is necessary out here is the air conditioning, and you really feel it, if it does not work.

So we both did a few chores first and then we picked Helen up, our next stop being Bunnings, they have opened a huge new store here in Wagga, it is pretty good and there is much that
Hope you are not SqueamishHope you are not SqueamishHope you are not Squeamish

A picture of my eye!
we would all like to look at but time ticks on, we soon have everything that we need and we move on to the next place.

Oh, well actually we do have a lot more to do but by now we are all thirsty and hungry so we head off to Café Moorish for a coffee and bacon roll. Once we were all feeling refreshed we were back in the truck and onto the next place.

I cannot be specific about all of our movements today as they do involve some Christmas shopping for Helen so don’t want to inadvertently spoil any surprises (no Susan, we are not going to tell you what you have for Christmas!)

The one important thing on our list was to get the battery tested on the Patrol, so we headed into Tyrepower (the same company that supplied us our Cooper Tyres in Tom Price, they are probably still laughing!). The chap came out with his battery tester and soon we learned that our main battery was failing, there was almost no charge in it. Now the battery is still the original and it is nearly 5 years old so quite acceptable that it would be on its last legs, we only managed to keep it going for so long as we were doing so much daily mileage on our way round this little Island!!

So one new battery later, the Patrol started first time without a single grumble and on we went to our next destination.

There was more post to uh, post, and a little bit more shopping in the Market Place but my main concern today was to make an appointment for an eye test with the optician as my last eye test was over a year ago before we left England.

Now I am impressed, the eye test is completely covered by Medicare so I did not have to pay, however I was offered the benefit of having a full photograph done of my eyes, they can see the condition of them and know if there is anything wrong (that bit I had to pay for!)

So Craig the crazy optician from Wagga, set about testing my eyes (don’t worry I told him about the blog and he called himself Craig the Crazy Optician from Wagga, albeit perhaps he is a little bit crazy… only kidding Craig!) So the good news is that my overall vision has not changed although I am struggling to focus on small print at close range (apparently an age thing!), which is a problem with map reading, for which Craig gave me some options, so there are options, including wearing one contact lens! “Is that legal? Can I drive with one contact lens?” Craig assures me that a lot of people do it so I felt it was worth a try, but I am not so sure.

The good news is that the photograph showed that my eyes look completely healthy, so no major concerns there, I felt the cost was worth it for peace of mind.

I leave the safety of Craigs office with one contact lens in, I can see the whole purpose, i.e. the right eye is focusing on the distance and the left eye can do the close up work such as reading, however I like 20/20 vision in other words I like to see a sharp picture ahead of me, this feels a little uncomfortable and will take some getting used to, as Andy drives back to Woodstock (after we drop Helen off to pick up her car from the garage) I watch the scenery around me my eyes adjust but perhaps it is not ideal for me.

Anyway back at Woodstock, we all feel exhausted, a busy day, lots on the list but executed perfectly, I persevere, I do a bit of Wii Fit, but I struggle with the concept on one lens so eventually I give in and put the let one back in. That’s better! I will give it another go, but I wonder if the best situation to use this technique is in the office, i.e. when I am doing paperwork or working on the computer rather than concentrating on what’s happening across the other side of the office.

The afternoon drifts away and I head off to feed the dogs, I am concerned about Trixie, her nose is dry and she is not her usual self, she does not attempt to eat her food, I check her tummy wound, it does not look too bad, but the poor thing must be sore. I give her some different food, which she has no problem in woofing down (excuse the pun!), but not long after Robert lets them all off for a run and Trixie perks up, so no cause for concern (we have said before these dogs know how to tug at our heart strings!)

I do some brain training this evening, this time taking one lens out and trying to see if this works better for me, I have to say this is not too bad and works quite well, providing that I don’t have to focus on anything too far away.

Helen and Robert vanish to bed, then Andy and I decide to go chat with the dogs to convince them once again not to bark in the night, Tiny as usual is thrilled to bits to see us and gets over excited she often clambers over the top of Kimba in her excitement.

Anyway, the others all welcome us calmly, Andy talks to them all about not barking, in other words he is doing his doggy whispering, lets hope that it does some good again tonight, it was only Tiny that barked last night, so fingers crossed the little chat may do some good tonight, are you hopeful? Because I am not!

On the way back across the paddock, we switch the torch off and gaze at the beautiful night sky, never a night goes by that ceases to amaze us. The coolness of the night outside brings a chill so we are soon back indoors.

Andy has a quick catch up with a friend on Skype, we also have a Skype chat with the Wallaby Wanderers, they are still in WA and soon to be heading across the Nullarbor.

The lights are out and we are tucked up in bed, not long after the lights are out Tiny starts to bark, so Andy gets up to go out with the newspaper, but she stops before he gets there, did she get the message? We cannot give her a bop on the nose with the newspaper if she stopped barking otherwise she wont know what it is for.

Back in bed, everything finally goes quite and sleep hits us.

Until tomorrow and perhaps an easier day!

Goodnight.


Advertisement



15th December 2009

Its ok I believe in Santa Clause..........if you dont believe you wont receive

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 37; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb