Convicts and Catfish!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Manly
December 21st 2006
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well hello bloggers!

How are you all, well I hope, I expect its very cold and christmassy over there in England (or wales if your Helen!). Its nice and warm over here, although they are predicting clouds for christmas day, but it will hotten up again soon im sure.

Corinne has gone off to Melborne for a week, leaving me on my tod, but have no fear, I have been keeping my self busy working a million hours at my new job and on my day off, doing the tourist thing and seeing some sights.

Today I have been accross on the ferry to the city and went to the Convicts museum, which is actually in the Hyde Park Barracks, where they kept convicts, then female immigration depot and then it became a femal asylum and then finally a courts office. Its a huge building, and they decided to make it into a museum, and when they pulled up the floor boards they found hundreds and hundreds of historical artifacts. They think that rats lived between the floor boards and that they pulled all these things through the gaps to make nests, as well as things just falling down, or prehaps being swept under. Anyway, it was really interesting. I took some pictures of it, but they dont really do it justice.

Then I caught another ferry to the aquarium, which was fun, although its now summer holidays here, so it was full of kids, which i found annoying (says she who wants to teach!). They also have a wildlife park there too, but by the time i got out of the aquarium it was nearly 5, so I coudnt be bothered, although I might another day. I want to see a real live Koala!!!!!

Then I caught the two ferries home back to Manly again, so the sea air has tired me out. I did get a very good view of the opera house and the bridge though. If you guys enlarge the pics of the bridge you may just be able to make out the figures of tiny little people climbing the bridge. Its something I want to do before i leave, but the bridge is huge, and most of the time its windy as its not sheltered at all, so I think I would crap my pants! ha ha.

Well, thats about all for now, will update you all again soon, maybe with pictures from new years eve!

Have a wicked christmas and a very happy new year! (well, as happy as you can muster without me!! ha ha)

Nat x


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

harbour bridge and opera househarbour bridge and opera house
harbour bridge and opera house

can you see any people? they really are tiny!
BridgeBridge
Bridge

I promise you, zoom in half way up, you can see them!!
Hyde Park BarracksHyde Park Barracks
Hyde Park Barracks

This is where they kept convictsand later female immergrants. Now a museum.
hammockshammocks
hammocks

they slept in these, and from what it said on the wall, played hide the sausage in each other bums too! How naughty! ha ha.
corridorcorridor
corridor

A very long corridor. It was spooky when you are there, but the photo looks a bit lame. Oh well.
opera house 3opera house 3
opera house 3

The boat was really getting on my nerves, it was in my shot for ages. How very dare they!
possibly Sarah Island?!?!possibly Sarah Island?!?!
possibly Sarah Island?!?!

Some prisony island type thing! Its could be Sarah Island that I read about in the museum, but maybe not. Who knows! Quite grim to be kept here though.
Just to prove im alive!Just to prove im alive!
Just to prove im alive!

Here we are on a night out at Rach's local, the Fiddler, huge place, had a wicked night, got a bit too drunk (as always!).


2nd January 2007

some lovely pics there. hope you ahd a briliant xmas and new year - i saw the fireworks from sydney harbour bridge - they looked pretty impressive!!
5th January 2007

Pinchgut
The little island with the fort, is Fort Denison, and is sometimes known as ‘Pinchgut’ or ‘Rock Island’. Not 'Sarah Island'. It was used as a place of punishment for the more difficult convicts. It was the convicts who named it ‘Pinchgut’ after the starvation rations they had to face. Enjoy Australia!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb