Hawksbury River


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Hawkesbury City
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hawksbury River (Brooklyn) Friday 21st November 2008


After all the many storms of recent weeks the sun came out last Friday and as it was a beautiful day I decided to get out of the city and took the train to the Hawksbury River region; to a little town called Brooklyn on the Central Coast Railway line.

As we started to get out of Sydney the scenery gets pretty spectacular, going right through the Kuringai Chase National Park and I was very glad to leave the city behind!

When I arrived in Brooklyn I took a wee walk around the headland and made friends with some giant pelicans and stayed clear from this one on top of a lampost as my new friend Bruce was quick to warn that it'd "sheet on yer ead doll". Its really nice region and so close to Sydney but I felt miles away! I felt like I was at the seaside although in fact its a huge river and not the sea - safer swimming without all those sharks lurking!!

I went for lunch to ther Riverside Hotel and had a great seafood platter. Turns out the lady who owns the place is from Rutherglen, Scotland and was living the life in Australia - had been for 40 years and at 70 was about to retire and sail off into the sunset on her giant yaught. Why she would pick here over Glasgow I'm just not sure...........

Anyway that was my little touristy day trip which I really enjoyed and it put me in the mood for some scenery which hopefully I will get by the bag load in Tasmania - where I'll be 1 week from now!

BUT first stop Blue Mountains - will update you all soon.

LMx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



24th November 2008

Wow
Those photos look amazing and it looks like you are still having a fab time over there! V jealous as it is soooo cold here!!! Carolynn and I got back yesterday at lunchtime so trying to get over the jet lag and the temp change!!!! Cambodia was an amazing place and we had a fab time. Anyway best be off and get my dinner on. Keep having fun. G xx

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb