Radical


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Engadine
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, it wasn't Engadine it was seven mile beach - the town has a population of 500 so it's not on this map thingy.

Anyway, spent the last two days hitting the waves, well the waves were hitting me. In the face, repeatedly and hard. If you haven't guessed I went to surf camp. Damn I sound like an american brat - surf camp (math camp was full).

For the first two hours I loved it, the waves are so much bigger than I've seen and soooo powerful. I couldn't stand but I could catch the waves no problem and have fun trying to stand then wiping out spectacuarly. I tired myself out and my nose and throat started to burn pretty bad. Next two hours was more of the same, the waves fricking hurt. Expcially when you're trying to walk out and they smack the surfboard in your face or chest. Ow.

In the evening I realised how hard work surfing is, you use loads of muscles you never knew you had. I ached all over. The next day we got woken up at 6am to surf. My goodness it is soooo cold that early! Putting on a wet wetsuit is not fun, it's actually alot better when you have it on and when you get in the water it actually feels warm. Tired and several days without proper sleep meant it was getting harder to battle the sea. By the time the second session started my initial over-the-top enthusiasum had passed. Surfing is good fun and would be awesome if I was halfway decent at it but I am glad I was on a 2 day course rather than a 5 day. I can stand on a board now but only briefly before I get thrown to the floor by the mean sea.

When we got back to Sydney we went to Scubar for drinks and pizza. I then went back to the hostel to check in and shower with the intention of meeting the surf gang for a night out. I got to the hostel and they were all gearing up for a night out, i weighed up the options and the hostel night out was more appealing. Went to World Bar, full of backpackers, unsupprisingly. Meet some more cool people and forgot gav wasn't there to help drink my pitchers so got fairly drunk. Australia is basically full of English, Irish getting drunk up the east coast. In all honestly I'm looking forward to leaving on Tue. Meet loads of people who ahve already been to NZ so have a pretty full itenaery of things to do. Have to cehck the finances again shortly. Not going to be pretty.


Later days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb