The Beauty Below


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
March 7th 2013
Published: March 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Search and RecoverySearch and RecoverySearch and Recovery

Me working on raising a bicycle from under the water. At this point, I was working on my knots and using the recovery bag to make the bike ascend.
It's been a busy few weeks here out in Australia and I'm finding myself more tired as the days pass. It seems that the diving is really running a toll on me, more then I was expecting. I haven't had a day off in about 2 weeks, and when your doing 2-3 dives a day, and then come home to do studying/homework, I get excited if I can get to bed by 10. At this point in my internship, I can officially say that I have passed my advanced open water, search and recovery, navigation, nitrox, deep waters, emergency frist responce, and rescue course. I am currently working on my divemaster program and have been in the shop from about 7:30am-5:30pm, and as I said, I'm exhausted. Since I've been spending so much of my time underwater, I thought I'd dedicate this blog to all of the great things that I have been seeing under the water.

Numbray: Like a stingray, but with no tail and barb. Instead, they are electric and when you touch them, you get a sting even through your wetsuit.

Blue Grouper: So friendly that you can pet them as they follow you throughout the
NudibranchNudibranchNudibranch

A little slug! They come in all different colors and patterns.
whole dive. They love to eat sea urchins and enjoy a good belly rub.

Nudibranch: These little slugs come in all different colors and sizes and are found all over the seafloor. One of my favorites!

Old Wives: The are a cousin of the angelfish and come in schools of about 20+.

Yellowtail: Another one of my favorites! These never come in a small school and when your swimming, you will be completly surrounded. It's like Planet Earth, truely a sight to behold.

Rockfish: Its call this becasue of its undeniable ability to camoflague itself to look like a rock.

Cuddlefish: Another master of diguise, this octopus/squid can changes its colors to blend with the environment or even as a defense mechanism.

Anglerfish (Frogfish): The most rare thing I have found in the water. Its sits next to spongy corals and you wont even notice it. It walks on this fins and makes a sad face all the time. Getting one to climb up my arm was a feat in itself.

Port Jackson: This shark is kind of boring in my books since it just sits around on the bottom. However, it does
WobbegongWobbegongWobbegong

I see these on a regular basis, Laying under rocks and corals.
lay a crazy spiral shaped egg that floats on the bottom.

Starfish: This is pretty self explainitory, theres just so many different kinds here its hard to name them all.

Goby: So feisty! these little guys hide in small holes or bottles and once you get near, will start to bite you. Serious napoleon complex.

Wobbegong: This shark is interesting. It sits motionless on the bottom, but had the ability to bend completly in half and bite its own tail (or preditor). Needless to say, you need to keep a safe distance. After it latches on, the only way to remove it it by completly removing it from water and prying its mouth open.

Octopus: More common then you would think. They hide under coral formations on the sandy bottom and use their tenticles to barracade themselves behind shells. Ive gotten quite good at finding them becasue you will see a rndom pile of shells at the base of corals. Wiggle your fingers in front and he will wrap his tenticles around your finger just enough that you can pull him right out of his hole. They wrap artound your arm like a bracelet and camoflauge
Weedy SeadragonWeedy SeadragonWeedy Seadragon

My Favorite!
to your skin.

Weedy Seadragon: My favorite! This 6-7in seahorse like creature has little dots all over his body, like an aboriginal painting. They hide out in the kelp, motionless, and its very hard to spot them.

All of these things have made my trip such a great experience, but I have had quite a bad experience as well. The other day, after finishing my thrid dive, I felt a bit of irritation under my right eye. Ignoring it as basic irritation, I continued on with my day. After waking up the next morning, I realized my face was complelty swollen and I had a rash all of the way down my chest. Stung by a jellfish, in the face. I went to the chemist and got some high dose meds/steriods to take the sweeling down, and after 3 days, its starting to work. I was out of the water for two days doing nothing but sleeping from the medication. The swelling in my face has almost subsided, but the rash on my chest has gotten worse. Today was my first day back in the water, and I was sick. All day I was feeling ill in my
Jellyfish StingJellyfish StingJellyfish Sting

As I said, my chest has gotten much worse then in this photo.
stomach and itchy. The meds make me loopy and tired and I'm hoping they will make me better in a few days.

Once i finish my divemaster course next week, Ill be on my way to the Great Barrier Reef for three weeks. I will be working at the shop and leading divers to gain experience for my instructor course. 3 weeks with no computer, no phone, no civilization. I'm looking forward to it, but I am also hoping for a day off before I go, to catch up on some sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Search and Recovery TeamSearch and Recovery Team
Search and Recovery Team

With the pony bottles of nitrox, my search and recovery team. Helen, Melissa (my dive buddy), and me.
Lilli PilliLilli Pilli
Lilli Pilli

My first day as a divemaster at Lilli Pilli dive site.
Search and RecoverySearch and Recovery
Search and Recovery

Me working on raising my bike.
Search and RecoverySearch and Recovery
Search and Recovery

Working on my knots.
Search and RecoverySearch and Recovery
Search and Recovery

Me sitting in the back observing one of my buddies raising the bike.
NavigationNavigation
Navigation

Me and Helen woking on our navigation skills. At this point, we were looking for a lost weight (about 3in x 3in).
Navigation TeamNavigation Team
Navigation Team

Helen, Melissa, and Me working on our navigation.
NavigationNavigation
Navigation

Me and Helen working on our navigation skills.
WobbegongWobbegong
Wobbegong

A Wobby just chillin. Notice us keeping our distance.
Rescue DiverRescue Diver
Rescue Diver

Me and Melissa working on rescuing people for the shore.
Lunchtime at Lilli PilliLunchtime at Lilli Pilli
Lunchtime at Lilli Pilli

Me and the crew taking a surface interval and having some soup!
Camp CoveCamp Cove
Camp Cove

A great dive site, but I got stung in the face by a jelly.
My housematesMy housemates
My housemates

My roomies and a few others saying goodbye to one of us who just got a job on the Barrier Reef.
Rescue DiversRescue Divers
Rescue Divers

The rescue divers in my class out for a beer at the pub.
The Rescue DiversThe Rescue Divers
The Rescue Divers

The rescue divers having a drink at the pub.
NudibranchNudibranch
Nudibranch

A different kind of nudi, I love finding all differnet colors!


7th March 2013

Great Weedy Seadragon and so sorry to read about the jellyfish stings! Can't wait to see more underwater photos~ :)
8th March 2013

How cool! Wish I was there to see it all....
20th August 2013

Diving the beauty below
Ouch! Sorry you had to deal with the jellyfish sting. Sounds like you are having a great time and the photos are wonderful.
20th September 2013

Photography forum
I've posted a few of your wonderful photos in the underwater photo forum so everyone can enjoy them.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb