My longgg walk in Cronulla!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
December 23rd 2010
Published: December 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

G'Day!
News so far, we have left Cronulla and are now based in Sydney for Christmas and New Year.
Cronulla was lovely. It is such a pretty beach town. It was really lovely just walking down to the beach and going for a swim. We didn't really do much more in Cronulla. We went out on one night (I might put up some photos on the old Facebook) and I did my walk, and it took a while. I have added some pics to this blog of my walk.
So the walk...I was basically walking for 8 hours on my own - no joke. At one point I really thought I was going to have to be rescued. The walk started by walking along the beach to the far end. It really didn't look that far, but it took me an hour and a half. Once at the end, there were some really pretty rock pools and a few shacks that people lived in. According to the map you were then meant to join the Botany Bay National Park and walk through to the Discovery Centre. For Some reason I could not find the connection to the NP and therefore ended up walking a hell of a long way through an industrial estate. I then headed up to the top of Botany Bay NP and found the Discovery centre. From the NP you could look out on the the skyline of Sydney. I also saw the landing place of Cpt James Cook. The Discovery centre was really good, it had a museam about the first landing.
After I spent some time there I was debating weather to walk back or not. By this point I had been out for over 4 hours. I decided on walking back through the NP as I hadn't walked through it yet. The NP was really amazing. It was flat but rocky and you could look at to sea for miles. At some point you could literally walk to the cliff edge - pretty cool. I was walking through the NP at about 4-ish and for some strange reason the sun decided to become extremerly hot. I had forgot to bring extra sun cream out with me so had to cover my arms with my vest top, keep my hair covering my neck, pull up my socks and tie my rucksack to my back. This is a mistake I will never ever make again. I was so so so hot. The NP was huge as well and I didn't see another person for ages. I also had to push my way through bushes and my legs got battered. There was no mobile signal so I hadn't even spoken to the girls for a few hours - I really wasn't prepared. It reminded me a bit of when my Dad I walked through bushland in Cronwall to get the beach - remember that Dad? Luckily I didn't see any wildlife on the way. Although at some point I really thought this NP wasn't going to end, the views definately made up for it.
I finally bumped into another Dutch couple walking, and borrowed some sunscreen off them. They too had not seen anyone else in the NP, so we stuck together on the way back. We finally made it back to rock pools/shacks at about 6:30, so I knew I had another hour and a half to wlak back down the beach. I rang the girls to let them know I was still alive! As we began walking the heavens decided to open and it poured down. It began with hail then really cold rain water. It rained to entire way back. Walking on sand, bare foot and in rain is very hard, just so you know.
The 8 hour wlak took it out of me, but the views were incredible and it's something I won't forget, I also got a pretty good colour from it : )
So i've added a few pictures, but my camera ran out about 2 hours into my walk, so I had to conserve my battery for the best pics.
Hope you like.
next blog will be Christmas time
love ya
xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb