Five girls, some goon, the beach and a cockraoch!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cronulla
December 14th 2010
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

City to Cronulla


First off... sorry I haven't blogged in a while. I'm not staying at Uncle Dan's anymore so internet access is few and far between.
Quite a lot has happened since I last blogged. Biggest news is the girls arrived safe and sound on December 1st. I met them at the airport, but was a little late (my own fault, didn't get home till 5am the night before!). The weather when they arrived was horrible. It rained non-stop for about 4 days, at least I got use out of my rain mac. The girls had a little trouble finding some where to stay, but it worked out in the end. It was so nice having them here. We were all staying around the Kings Cross area in Sydney. I was staying in the Originals hostel which was very friendly. We stayed in Sydney city till Friday, after which we then headed up to Dan's. There, we basically spent the weekend chilling out and the girls caught up on their sleep. Shell statred her job on the monday, so back to the Originals for us.
We met some nice people in this hostel and really hit it off with two Irish girls called Jen and Sarah. Had some really fun nights out as the hostels do something different every night of the week - usually a different bar/club. Lets just say a lot of goon was drunk in that week. Oh, goon is basically a box of wine, it is very cheap and very cheerful : )
Shell's job is based out of town and about 1 hr from the city, so we decided to move closer to her work. We are now staying in Cronulla which is 1 hr from Sydney city and right on the beach. There is only one hostel in this area so we are booked in here till 23rd Dec. We are living a 3 min walk to the beach - AMAZING!! and the weather as been awesome. Jen and Sarah even decided to come with us, so the five of us have been beach-ing it all weekend. The beach is lovely and the sea, although freezing at first, is a welcome break form the heat. I have to admit I am a little red in places, so will be taking a break from the beach for a few days. They have a surf school on the beach so going to try my hand at surfing this weekend - I'll let you know how it goes. There are loads of walks in the national parks around here, so going to put on my walking boots and go hiking one day. We are close to Botany Bay, it's where the first ships from England landed and where Captin Cook was all those years ago.
So, about the cockraoch fiasco of 13/12/10 in D6 Cronulla! Lauren, Shell, Jen and I are staying in a 6 bed dorm with two lads in this hostel, and last night a 7th memeber turned up in the form of a huge cockraoch. Now I have seen my fair share of cockroaches while being here, Shell and Lauren have not. This cockraoch took a liking to Lauren and decided to climb all over her while she was falling asleep. This lead to Lauren jumping like a ninja from her top bunk to the door. This then sent Shell and Jen jumping out of bed - I however found it rather funny (I know I am horrible). The sight of three girls trying to then spot the cockroach and figure out how to kill it. We've been told you can't squash a roach, apparently the best bet is to flush them away. Luckily a nice lad from the hostel came to the rescue and trapped the raoch and put it out the window. I was still crying with laughter! I am so mean - sorry Lauren! The funniest thing was that one of the guys in the room slept through all the drama.
So still no luck on the job front. I did work for one day at a trucking company, but they didn't need me any more. Most agencies have said that there should be more work after Christmas - I really hope so.
We are heading back to the city on 23rd Dec, staying at the Rocks for Christmas and New Year. I actually can't wait. Need to start thinking about where to go on Christmas day and New Years Eve.
Missing you all tonnes, talk soon
xxxx
I wanted to add some pictures, but I can't on this computer for some reason - so i'll add some on facebook!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb