The Ark Purchase


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Cootamundra
November 17th 2010
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I COULDN"T FIND THIS INITIAL BLOG, SO I REWROTE IT, BUT I HAVE NOW FOUND IT AND THOUGHT I MAY AS WELL PUBLISH IT AS WELL.

Well here I go, my first travelblog:
We had been looking at Camper trailers for a while as two of our friends had purchased a Camper Van and a Caravan to go away at weekends, we didn't have much to spend so were even prepared to do the full on tent camping, still young enough - well if we have a decent mattress! Anyway, Tonys parents mentioned a friend of theirs had a camper trailer for sale for a $1000, we were going to Canberra for a few days to work so went to Cootamundra to look at it the weekend before. What a bargain-it is old-well not as old as us-but old for a van a 1975 fibreglass camper van. It has been extremely well looked after for a van 36 years old, and the annexe I'm sure wouldn't have been used a dozen times! so we decided to buy it after a quick look in the rain, it was musty from being locked up, but a bit of cleaning and recovering of cushions and it suits us to a T, even if we find we want to update later, I'm sure we will get our money back and who knows we might hate the whole van park experience, we tried it once when the kids were young teenagers and we all hated it! but being empty nesters should be different-I hope! So after our business trip we met Tony's dad at the Canberra turnoff on the Hume highway, attached the camper to our car and headed off home.

The trip home was uneventful and Tony found the camper easy to tow, then I had to wait to clean it out at the weekend. It didn't take much as it was more just damp and musty for not being opened for a long time. So before Tony headed off to golf we opened it up so it could air and I could do the cleaning. All in all very impressed, now I need a weekend to recover the seating cushions. probably won't get done till after our first trip which is planned as a 3 nighter to really test it out at the end of the month.

So until then, you will have to wait to find out how our camper became known as "The Ark"

Charmaine & The Moth



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb