Forster to Coff's Harbour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Coffs Harbour
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Big BananaThe Big BananaThe Big Banana

This Large Banana was the 1st in a Australian rage for large items. kinda like Canada
Day 6.

We're up and at'em early. We leave Forester around 9am and head 200km or so up to Coff's Harbour. Trish's coworker Gabe has a fiancee from Coff's and we were quite interested to see it as he'd talked so much about it.

We hit the information centre, which there seems to be tons of in every community and decide on a few things we need to see. Driving around Coff's we head downtown and see what's going on and to get some groceries.

Coff's has a great downtown. lots of small shops, a farmer's market was taking place on the day we were there and a great pedestrian mall, where motorists stop for people crossing the street. Woolworth's is alive and well in Australia, as a grocery chain.

Emeral beach had a nice ring to it and we choose that as the next caravan park to stay at (and they advertise wireless internet). It's 10km or so north of Coff's and we head out to camp early.

I'm keen to go swimming in the ocean again, so I convince Trish to get her swimsuit on and walk to the beach which is nice and
Kangaroo Crossing?Kangaroo Crossing?Kangaroo Crossing?

Kinda like our deer signs
close.

The first thing we notice is that there's a foam on the beach and that the waves seem to be standing instead of crashing on the beach. Not a great sign and there's no one out swimming. I thought at first that it's a small community, but there is 10 or so people walking up and down it. Glancing to the south, there's a few young surfers in the water and a few on the beach. We walk in that direction and see signs that Swimming is not Recomended and rough currents. Well that sucks. We watch for awhile and head back to the pool where there are 5 or 6 people swimming. There are a few kids there so we watch them until they take of and we swim for a while.

That night we decide to take adavantage of the BBQ area. Easier than having to clean up the caravan after cooking i head over to cook the Kangaroo we had picked up at the store. Yeah I said it, Kangaroo!!! The grill is interesting. It's a stainless steel square with a hole in the centre. You press a red button which ignites a flame
Koala CrossingKoala CrossingKoala Crossing

Not like these little guys move fast
that heats the surface. It runs for 14 minutes and shuts off. I throw on the 'Skippy' and wait. and wait, and wait. It's not a fast process like a BBQ is. and I have to clean it after. So I truck back to the Caravan to grab a cloth.

Meanwhile, there is a couple that successfully cooked supper and a guy behind me using the stovetop to make something in a pot. We chat a little and he leaves. As I am suffering through my second 15 minutes on the grill, I figure I'll finsh the skippy off in the little grill we have in the RV. I start to clean my grill and the guy beside me comments on how the grills are to clean. I comment that it's only my first time using one and they asked if I'm from the States. "OH NO!! I'm from Canada" I say and this puts a big smile on their faces. They really open up at that point and we have about a 10 minute conversation as they lend me gear to clean my grill.

I say see ya later and head back to the caravan to finish the Roo. It's fantastic!! Lean like deer, but not as gamey.
We have a bottle of wine with supper and wish each other Happy Valentine's Day.

We head to sleep early as Trish wants to see the Big Banana before we head north. I stay up a little later because we have wireless internet and I'm having withdrawls



Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb