fishing, goodbyes, neighbours and Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Caringbah
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

2nd to 15th jan 2009

Hello all!!!

After returning to Geelong we took a bit of a fishing trip. Actually, I will just refer to it as a boat trip because we didnt catch a thing!! It was an excellent day though and we had a lot of fun. Plus we got to see an interesting glimpse of the sun... yuo'll see in the photos.

Then came the goodbyes, which was really tough as I've been with these guys for a month. Enough said.

Went to Melbourne for 1 night. Met up with a QP friend Carla in the aim of going to a neighbours night where you meet the cast and Karl Kennedy's band performs. However, it wasn't running as the cast have month off over xmas (who do they think they are...). So naturally, we drowned our sorrows. Tuesday I went on a tour of the studios and Ramsay St but unfortunately, not a cast or crew member in sight!!! I learnt some interesting facts though... and some storylines but i wont burst your bubbles unless you email me with a desire to know!!! ha ha.

Took overnight greyhound bus to Sydney. 12 hours... alot less comfortable than Asian buses somehow so little sleep had!! Lyndall picked me up and drove me to my new home for the next few weeks. Im staying in Caringbah with Chook (aka Adam) and Jonno (aka Ryan), they are also ex-QP staff as all aussies seem to be and they went to the wedding aswell. Went straight to Boat Harbour as it was lovely day and went over the sand dunes in Jonno's ute to park straight on the beach. Awesome start to Sydney!!

On wed, I met up with Chris Wood who I went to school with and is here doing his PhD. Had a relaxing day in city centre and saw a few sights but the weather was poor.

Friday night was messy... there was only 5 of us and someone called the police saying we were too loud and its like it all the time (strange seeing as the house had been empty for a month!!). We have been banned from partying for 28 days!! Ridiculous. Unfortunately, the cops didnt find Jonno's comment of "I guess we'll see you in 29 days then" amusing. Funny that....

Saturday marked the beginning of Sydney Festival, a fortnight of live music, plays etc similar to Chelts but bigger!! We went to the opening night and watched The Cat Empire and Mr Scruff who were both good. Then headed to Newtown for cocktails, then ended the evening in an Irish Pub skanking away while the DJ played ska music!! awesome!

Sunday was beautfitul so we headed to the beach. Most weekdays are finished with heading to the beach when the boys are back from work aswell. Monday I went to Lyndalls for the day and eve for a nice family meal.

Tuesday I hit Bondi. I wasn't overly impressed. Obviously it had a lovely white stretch of sand and sea was great but it was smaller than I thought, and I must say I favour the quieter duney beach at Cronulla, near where Im staying. Bondi sort of reminded me of an english seaside town due to the concrete wall, pavillion and parade of shops. Oh, and the burnt english tourists sunbathing.

Wednesday Lyndall took me to Woolongong, an hour south of Sydney where she grew up and we relaxed on the beach and drove through the national park.

Today has been the hottest day so far and though it went against my beach instinct, I ventured into the city. Which was very hot. However, I finally got some good snaps of the sights of Sydney we all know and love. A also took a walk through the botanical gardens and visited the Art Gallery of New South Wales and the Australian Museum. I had planned to do a bridge climb and scale the sides of the bridge but when I found I couldn't take my camera I decided against the $200+ fee and took some views from road - level instead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

a full rainbowa full rainbow
a full rainbow

how cool is that???
ramsay stramsay st
ramsay st

obligatory pose
ramsay stramsay st
ramsay st

what its really called...
Elouna beach, CronullaElouna beach, Cronulla
Elouna beach, Cronulla

5 mins drive from house


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb