Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
November 5th 2012
Published: November 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

More surfingMore surfingMore surfing

Standing up!
The day started with breakfast on a balcony. All 4 of us – Maria, myself, Forest, and Henry - packed up and got in their car (yea, they’re loaded) for our hour long road trip to Byron. I learned a lot about Anthony Kiedis since I wore my chili pepper shirt – read “Scar Tissue” and you’ll understand. We got to Byron and immediately went to the beach. We all body surfed in the most vicious waves – captured on GoPro (our waterproof camera). When we were out of the water, the wind was so strong that the sand felt like bullets when it hit us. I drove the car to lunch!! I was so bad at it too haha. We ate lunch at a burger joint – the guy behind the counter sang rap techno music – then we unloaded our stuff at the hostel, Aquarius – only the best of the best.

We roomed with 12 German girls and a Sweden named Sabine who was nuts. All 16 of us got ready and went to the “Cheeky Monkey” club. Really talented guys playing guitar/drums were in the streets. Two little 16 year olds asked us for “goon” (cheap
BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

On the balcony
Australian wine), then we found a man in a cow costume and took a picture with him! The Cheeky Monkey ended up being the craziest night of a crowd dancing on tables. It was madness. I made it back to the hostel with Sabine – the nutty Swedish girl – while Henry went on a mad hunt to smoke (gross). I fell asleep on my bottom bunk pretty quickly.

The next morning, Forest and Henry said we couldn’t leave until we learned to surf – frickin sweet. We rented red and blue boards and wetsuits, like girl and guy teams. The first wave we rode was so incredible because the guys pushed us off at the same time so Maria and I just stayed on our stomachs screaming in happiness and looking at each other laughing at how amazing this was. I never knew how fast you actually go when surfing! Henry always carried my board, helped me on, and pushed me off only when the best waves came. I felt like I was in a movie! After surfing we ate a late brunch at GayBer, then had to part ways. We got some final pictures of us 4
DrivingDrivingDriving

On the road to Byron
at the hostel, then said our goodbyes. Henry and Forest said we should meet up in NYC for another reunion someday – how cool would that be? Highly unlikely.

We made it back to Brisbane later that evening. To top it all off, Maria and I had to write our terrestrial paper (due the next day) on…..Forests. Yes, trees in a forest. Focusing was literally impossible. I was eating cold chunks of caffeine until 2am. But the weekend was so worth it. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Byron beachByron beach
Byron beach

Watching the guys surf
Surf lessonsSurf lessons
Surf lessons

Almost standing!
Cow manCow man
Cow man

Pre-Halloween?
Everyone!Everyone!
Everyone!

Germans and 16 year old.
Cheeky Monkey Madness!Cheeky Monkey Madness!
Cheeky Monkey Madness!

Forest and Maria
AquariusAquarius
Aquarius

The hostel


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb