Day 81


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
April 2nd 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, I'm still in Byron Bay. I'm getting a bit sick of it now, I just want to keep on moving up the East Coast!! On my birthday I ordered a waterproof case for my camera and it took an entire week to arrive. It was originally due to arrive on Tuesday, but eventually arrived on Thursday. I had to keep on adding nights and postponing my bus. I leave this evening though, to go to Brisbane (I'm missing out Surfer's Paradise, which seems to be a concrete Magaluf). There was a mini panick attack when I thought I would have to wait until Monday to leave Byron, because there's a music festival on here and if you want accommodation you have to book Friday, Saturday AND Sunday night or they won't take you. And the prices at the moment are double the usual. I decided to book a Greyhound bus to get to Brisbane, because ultimately it works out cheaper than staying here and the Oz Experience bus doesn't leave here on Fridays, so I couldn't have left this morning. And I need to be all the way in Noosa (north of Brisbane) on Monday, because on Tuesday I'm starting a canoe trip up Noosa river. Mega panic. It's all ok now though, and I'll use today to get out of Byron and take the bus to Lennox Head. I hear that they have a lake which has tea trees surrounding it, making it a tea tree lake (they drop their leaves in the water).
I've been spending the time here on the beach, basically, but yesterday I walked up to the lighthouse on Cape Byron and watched the sun set. That was lovely, can't wait to put up those photos. I've met tons of people here and I'll probably see them all the way up the East Coast (whether or not I want to!!!). The waterproof case is very exciting and shiny and smells clean. I'll start using it when I get to Noosa. It's also better than buying an underwater camera, because it lets you go up to 40m deep - and as I'll be a scuba diver pretty soon, that will come in handy!
I'm getting a little homesick out here. This isn't like NZ, most people seem to be travelling in pairs or groups, which makes it even harder to make friends. And when you do make friends, you're always the third wheel (or 7th, or 5th, or any number depending on how many people in the group). According to most people I meet, I'm too young to be travelling alone. I think they're all wrong. I'm having the time of my life, and travelling alone means I can do what I want, when I want. If something goes wrong, it's ALWAYS my fault.

Advertisement



4th April 2010

EVen in a couple
It can always be YOUR fault!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb