Day 75


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
March 27th 2010
Published: March 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, my birthday was great. I spent the day alternating between beach and sea. The sea is beautiful here, so SO clear. I saw fish swimming around as I was wading in through the waves. Completely surreal. The evening was good too, the pavlova went well (there are still leftovers though!!) and I had a great time at the bar across the road (Cheeky Monkeys, for anyone who knows Byron Bay). No, I'm not going to go into more detail than that.

Yesterday was similar to my birthday. Sun, sand and sea. Today I went snorkelling by an island that lies at the mouth of the bay. It was AMAZING. I swallowed half of the sea because I was so overexcited by all the fish. Don't even get me started on what happened when I saw a shark and a giant turtle. The turtle was so big, it was like if a human curled up into the foetal position. It was that size. And there were amazing fish everywhere, bright blue and zebra coloured and big and small. I was so exhausted by the excitement that I got home and had a nap. I really, really like fish. And I love snorkelling. I can't WAIT until I get to do my scuba diving course!!

Not much else to report really. This is a chilled out hippy town, and I'm extending my stay by yet another day. Tomorrow I'm going to hire a bike for the day, take a picnic and cycle along the coast and to the lighthouse. Because I can.

Advertisement



29th March 2010

another birthday!
you must be about 50 yo by now! Too many birthdays! I suppose you need another iPod book???? So, perhaps you should become an icthyologist??? (sp??) Study what you love Big Hug you old lady - MAE
30th March 2010

sounds like a couple of days to remember!! happy birthday!!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb