More time in Byron Bay!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 12th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

8th January 2008 - CATCHING UP!!!
I stood waiting at the bus stop for Nat and Hatty for about 10 minutes. So excited to see them!! The bus arrived at about 8.50pm and we greeted one another with some big hugs!!! There was supposed to be a free shuttle bus to take them to their hostel but when we phoned the hostel it had already left 5 minutes ago. Hatty was fuming and we had to trek for 15 minutes with their bags to the hostel (Cape Byron Lodge). She let them know how ridiculous she thought it was that the bus hadn't waited but everything was ok when the guy on reception brought out a couple of cold beers....that's good customer service for you!! They got settled in and we caught up on what had been going on for the next couple of hours...so much to chat about!!! They then walked me back to my hostel at about 11pm and we arranged to meet up the next day!! I hadn't minded being on my own as Byron is such a nice place but it felt good to see some friendly faces again!!!

9th January 2008 - A DAY OF PLANNING AND A NIGHT OUT!!!
I was up early this morning...had brekkie, packed up and checked out. I then made my way into town to catch the free shuttle to my new hostel.....the one where Nat and Hatty were staying!! Nice to be all together again!! After checking in and getting sorted we decided that a day of planning was required for the rest of our trip up the east coast. We caught the shuttle into town at about 12pm and spent the next 6 hours - no joke - sorting our trip out. We went between 2 travel companies trying to get the best deal possible for all the stuff we wanted to do. Difficult to know what to believe as both companies lie to try and get your business. Told us some right shit but after our experience in Thailand we had learnt not to be sucked in. Eventually Tribal Travel won out and we got a pretty good deal. We booked all our accommodation, a sailing trip around the Whitsunday islands, a 3 day canoe trip to the Everglades and a 3 day camping trip to Fraser Island. All the stuff we wanted to do and no hassle (hopefully) for the next 3 weeks!!!

By the time we had paid and booked we were shattered......it had been a stressful day!!! We headed back to the hostel for the hostel bbq - food and sangria for $7. It was much better than the one I had at Backpackers Inn...plenty of food this time and plenty to drink. Worth the $7. We got chatting to the other hostel residents whilst we ate and drank and it was good fun. At about 10pm we got ready and headed out - with a free lift - to Cheeky Monkeys. It was babe nation night.......all the staff wore nothing on top except a painted flag of different countries. I hoped they got paid copious amounts of money!! Some of the punters even had theirs painted......each to their own and all!!! From Cheeky's we went to a quieter bar - Rails - for one and then back to Cheeky Monkeys in the rain (carrier bags at the ready) to finish off the night. Some of the surf school were in there too so it was nice to say a final farewell to a lot of them.

As the night was coming to a close I did a bad thing.......I ate a pie!!!! I could not believe it!! The Cheeky monkey's shuttle bus tries to get you away from loitering around their premises and so takes you and drops you off at the nearby 24 hour bakery. Too tempting when drunk. Nat got one as well and Hatty got two so I didn't feel too bad!!! Still I ate a pie...bad news!!!! It was then a taxi back to the hostel and bed!!!

10th January 2008 - BEACH AND SHOPPING DAY!!!
After getting up and sorted this morning we headed on the free shuttle bus into town. Our first stop was the internet shop to book our greyhound buses up the coast. Such an easy system and we were sorted in a matter of minutes!! Job done!!
We then split off for a while to have a shop around town. I priced up some hair straighteners......$300....!!! Expensive!! I thought I had best leave it for a while especially as I haven't used them that often. Still gutted though!!! I then browsed some surf shops and had my photos put on CD...back up back up!!! The guy in the shop kept taking the michael out of my burnt chin...how rude!!! It had gone down a lot by then too!!!

Once shopped we all headed for the beach for some sunshine. It was the first time Nat and Hat had seen the beach & they loved it as did I!! Nat and I both snoozed for a while whilst Hat took solace in the shade!! Once we were beached out we headed back into town. It was only 5pm and the cheap place we wanted to eat at didn't open until 7...bummer!!! We were all starving so we called in at the Noodle Box....filled a hole and pretty tasty!! Once eaten I spent another hour or so on the net...still catching up on blogs!!! Nearly there now!! I then went to Woolies and bought some Special K or (J as some prefer) as a treat for the morning...so excited! It was then back to the hostel on the shuttle bus!!

Once back at the hostel I quickly showered and then we all settled in the TV room to watch a film....'Taken'. Not a bad film and very recent. I didn't like the ending though as it left huge gaps but otherwise good!!! Though not as good as some of the films I saw before I left such as Smokin' Aces!!!! Following the film it took me about 30 seconds to fall asleep!

11th January 2008 - ANOTHER THEFT & BODY BOARDING THE WAVES!!!!
Nat and Hat got up at 4.30am this morning to see the sunrise from the lighthouse. It was pretty cloudy, I was knackered and as I had already seen it I stayed in bed!! I didn't feel too cracking when I woke up later either...full of cold, sore throat and banging head!! I slept for another hour to try and eventually got out of bed at around 8.30am when I could hear my stomach pining for Special K. OH NO!!!!!! Theft alert!!! Someone had stolen my whole box of Special K...I didn't even get to have a bowl!! I searched high and low in the kitchen but no luck....it had been stolen for sure!! I was fuming (initially more so than when I realised my straighteners had gone) and hoped the person choked on them!! No more treats to Kelloggs......sticking to home brand muesli in future!!!

Nat and Hat arrived back a short while later. It was pretty overcast and so we hung around at the hostel for a while snoozing, reading and chilling out. At about 12ish we caught the shuttle into town and headed to the beach with some body boards that we borrowed from the hostel. By the time we got to the beach it had brightened up and the sky was blue. The waves were awesome...really big!!! I caught some fab ones that took me right into shore. An amazing feeling dropping over the crest of a wave as it breaks!! Not quite on par with surfing your first wave but not far behind!!! Awesome!!! I remembered my shorts too so no flashing of the heiny today!! Bloody hard work getting out to catch the waves though......one step forwards and 4 steps backwards. The current was strong too and we had to keep walking back up the beach or else we would have been 3 miles outside of the flags by the end. Only one bad thing about being in the sea was that something kept biting/stinging us. It didn't leave a mark and didn't hurt enough to make me get out but it still wasn't pleasant!!! Think they were some kind of non-lethal jellyfish....little blighters!!! Even so....I love the sea ad the body boarding was awesome!!!

Once out of the sea we laid on the beach to dry off and left to wander the town at about 4pm. Hat went shopping and Nat and I caught up some more with the blogs again!! I then went to purchase some muesli...no special K...still mad...before getting on the bus back to the hostel!! That evening at the hostel we chilled out with a few beers, did a crossword puzzle, read and chatted before falling into bed at about 11pm. Had a nice chilled out night!!

12th January 2008 - GOODBYE BYRON BAY!!!
We had to check out today...heading on the 4pm bus to Surfers Paradise. I will miss Byron Bay...definitely been one of my favourite places and definitely my favourite coastal town!! So chilled and has everything you could need!! We spent the day just meandering around town and packing our stuff up ready to move on. Time is flying!! At least we can relax in the knowledge that the rest of our trip in Australia is booked and planned. Really excited about it all!!!





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb