A whole lot of time has passed


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
December 22nd 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

MikeMikeMike

helping with dinner in Evans Head
I have yet to update in a good amount of time. I apologize to all of those eager readers who click refresh and refresh repeatedly for a sign of my existance.

Ta da. Here you have it.

I finished my ISP paper with plenty of hours to spare, but not many. I printed it out 3 times which cost me $75 in the local secretarial services pad. bummer, but it had to be done. I came up with some pretty cool stuff, which I'm willing to share with any of you who ask. As a reminder, I created a number of educational tools for backpackers to the Byron Bay area. I created a kit which I've yet to distribute around town. I'll do that soon. I gave a 20 minute presentation on the project with only a powerpoint in front of me. It contined swear words and sexual innundoes in order to capture the attention of the crowd that had to listen to presentations all day long. We laughed, we cried, we talked educational materials.

The class headed down to Evans Head where we had two apartments and a house for the 15 of us. I ended up
The final nightsThe final nightsThe final nights

in Evans Head with the classmates. Kelsey and Emily.
feeling quite sick during this time and I resorted to watching movies and falling asleep early. I'm feeling better. From Evan's head, I was transported to Brisbane with my classmates. Some flew back to the states, some to Adelaide, some stayed in Byron Bay, and I flew to Cairns. I met up with Gabe, Jeny, her cousin, and Nico, we rented a large bus with ninja turtles painted on the side and proceeded down the coast. We stopped at many beaches along the way, camping, having fires on the cool sands with high tide threatening our position. Our trip took us to the Mission Beach, Whitsunday Islands and Whitehaven beach, near bushfires, to the barrier reef, Arlie Beach, the glass house mountains, and back because we left 4 pairs of shoes, and then to Byron Bay, where I am currently sitting.

It was an amazing trip; however, most was spent in the van driving. We didn't really have enough days to get all the way to Byron and still have the ability to see much. I wish we'd had about 4 more days. But no complaining necessary, it was very enjoyable. Road trips need to be included often throughout
Christmas VomitsChristmas VomitsChristmas Vomits

waves on a bar in Evans Head
the rest of my existance.

I'm excited to be back in Byron Bay where the ocean waves are tall and the bodies are beautiful. There is such a great vibe here. The best way I can explain the feeling is one of a welcoming invitiation. Everyone feels welcome and happy here. No one judges but accepts the beauty of life. I'll be here until the 26th and then I head down to Sydney and then home!

Only a few days remain for me so I suspect to be thoroughly enjoying them as much as I can. Then I have to head home to the, ohmygod-don't-remind-me, winter in Nebraska and then Wisconsin.

I love you all.

I send you a warming of your heart from down under.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

RainbowRainbow
Rainbow

The beauty through the storm at Evans
So much beauty from the plane.So much beauty from the plane.
So much beauty from the plane.

great barrier reef and islands from above.
the vanthe van
the van

cowabunga, dood.
JenyJeny
Jeny

in the van. she's always wanting to bite something.
TravellingTravelling
Travelling

south of Cairns
NicoNico
Nico

sleeping in the van
HorrifiedHorrified
Horrified

when Jeny tried the stick.
The invention of sportsThe invention of sports
The invention of sports

on Mission Beach. Gabe and Nico.
Fire wood gatheringFire wood gathering
Fire wood gathering

myself. with palm branches and wood that didn't end up burning.
my fire hatmy fire hat
my fire hat

bonfire picture experienments.
MorningMorning
Morning

on Mission Beach
SunsetSunset
Sunset

at the Whitsundays
SnorkelingSnorkeling
Snorkeling

at the Barrier Reef. Nico.
The walk of shameThe walk of shame
The walk of shame

yet excitement, as our van is fixed. we spent the night across the street in the convenient store parking lot. wouldn't be a road trip if the car didn't break down.
sleepingsleeping
sleeping

in the van. as usual.


22nd December 2006

summer to winter
Oh, yes, Nebraska winter... Actually, you will find that it is not as bitterly cold as some winters you have experienced. What magnificient water you've been seeing! We need your flight info so that we can pick you up. Bro made it home on the train. We'll eat a candy cane on Christmas in your honor. Love, Mom
23rd December 2006

Your final project/presentation
I'm wondering whether you can post all or parts of your final project/presentation on your travel blog ... I'd like to read what you've "crafted" in the context of your blog. See you soon, Love Dad.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb