Byron only gets old when the schoolies pour beer on me.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
November 29th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

JenyJenyJeny

looking hot, as she usually does in pictures I take of her.
Byron Bay.
In the beginning I was passionately in love.
Now.
I could let it walk on by.

But I'm still very much enjoying my time here.
Upon graduation, hundreds (if not more) of 17s and 18s come to Byron to let it all go and celebrate their lives. They call them "schoolies." Unfortunately, they just get drunk and rude...thereby destroying the wonderful community that existed. I hate to hate...but unfortunately I cannot help it.

It's been eventful in relation to the people that have been coming and going in my house. Jeny was with a guy on her program and he decided to come up and stay for a week. He is an interesting character, indeed. He wants to listen to tupac always and argue about everything all the time. It was really good at first...holding debates about seemingly obvious issues....however, when he started telling me that it was ok that the beer was poured on me while waiting in line for the beach hotel..that kids will be kids, I decided to be done with him. Gabe also came to visit for a week which was awesome awesome awesome! I figured he'd really like Byron Bay, but as
RoomatesRoomatesRoomates

Jose and Sabrina
soon as he got in, so did all the schoolies. We hitchhiked to Mullumbimby to visit the Byron Shire Council, wher I received much much information for my project. I've never hitchhiked like that before..and it was wonderful with three of us.
Perhaps Mike, the boy from our program, will be coming back to Byron Bay early. I told him he'd have a place to crash at my house. He's been travelling in Tazmania, writing a poetic account of his times.

In other news, my project is really coming together. Good thing because I only have a week or so left to get it all complete! I can't believe I only have one more month before I'll be flying home! I miss you all from home very much, but as soon as I leave, I will miss Byron Bay and the ocean. Funny how we always long to be where we're not.

I love you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Kathy and MollyKathy and Molly
Kathy and Molly

Our landlord and her daughter graduation ceremony night.
WategosWategos
Wategos

beachin it.
AsherAsher
Asher

in the fro.
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

and the free range, organic turkey. god bless his soul.
GabeGabe
Gabe

in the fro.
EatingEating
Eating

or on the verge.
Rotting meatRotting meat
Rotting meat

note to self: dispose of turkey bones asap.
GabeGabe
Gabe

loves frangipanies.
Who is this girl?Who is this girl?
Who is this girl?

and why does it always look like she wants to bite me?
i'm not surei'm not sure
i'm not sure

if this is appropriate.
hitchinhitchin
hitchin

to mullumbimby and back
hooked uphooked up
hooked up

with great educational materials. thanks, council.
SleepingSleeping
Sleeping

on the floor. Sorry, Gabe.
frangipaniesfrangipanies
frangipanies

i frickin love the smell of these flowers.


2nd December 2006

drunken schoolies
Sounds like Byron could use some research-based "prevention" programing, particularly an environmental strategy denying young visitors access to alcohol. Tell the locals to goggle: "Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol." See you in a month! Love, Dad.
3rd December 2006

only problem is that people can legally drink in australia at the age of 18. it seems difficult to deny legal rights. especially when the community benefits economically from their ability to do so. socially and environmentally, the community does not benefit. do you think the program should be anti-alcohol or to foster an appreciation of the location and culture that is being visited?

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb