Fishing....Zzzzzzzz!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Ballina
February 17th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at eight o clock, just in time to flag the kids off to school before then readying myself for the short bus ride into Central Ballina. Upon arrival, I proceeded first to the top end of town where the Tourist Information Office is stationed and picked up a few useful leaflets of potential places to visit including Nimbin, an old hippy town fuelled by drugs and Ballina driving range to maybe help improve my far from perfect golf swing. I then took a short stroll along the riverbank which was very pleasant indeed and spent about an hour sitting, just watching the fishermen fish...with about as much success as the surfers down at Byron Bay... in fact, I didn’t even see one fish caught!!! How dull...what fascinated me though were the expressions of pure concentration on their faces as they watched their respective lines and floats intently...eagerly awaiting a nibble or a twitch!!! Thinking that their efforts would be better channelled into indoor 'magnetic fish in a bucket' fishing, I somehow managed to pull myself away from all the excitement and went and had a bacon and egg toasty complete with a 'mmmmmm' nice cold strawberry thick shake to calm my nerves!!! I thought briefly about walking back to West Ballina...yes, it was only a brief thought too so caught the 668 bus instead!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb