Still love Melbourne..but back to the beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Ballina
January 18th 2009
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

3 Blondes3 Blondes3 Blondes

Me, Nic, Bec
I'm in not-so-sunny Ballina with Leah right now....waiting for the sun to come through so I can hit the beach.
After the outback safari all my friends left, while I stayed in Alice Springs for one extra day. it was an uneventful day of sleeping in, spending time on the internet and walk little walk into the town to buy opal earrings. Soon after i started my walk I was the victim of a drive by boob-grab by a young aboriginal kid on a bike! Ugh.
Next I flew off to Melbourne and went out to Mornington...about 1.5 hour from the city, to stay with Nicole, Maxine and Bec in their little home. i decided to stay for a full week. One day Nic and I rented kayaks and paddled around Mother's Bay looking at giant purple jellyfish. We lasted maybe 30minutes sun tanning before feeling burnt thanks to the NO Ozone in Melbourne. Evening times were spend drinking in one of the two bar the girls worked in or at the house. We managed to take a day trip into the city to shop on Chapel street and another day in St Kilda and I spent a day through the stores in little mornington and did well. On my last night Nic and i joined "the peanuts"(3 18/19 year old boys from her work) and went into the city for drink and dance. We didn't walk into a bar until just before 2am and got home around 5am! Wow. The next day I grabbed ALL my gear and bus/trained into Melbourne Central Business District where i checked into a great hostel near the train station. There was a great little bar IN the hostel where i went for a few beverages with my new roommates before bed.
On Saturday i got up at 5am and started walking to the SouthernCross bus depot...but underestimated the amount of time i could need to caravan myself and bags to it...eventually flagging down a taxi in the middle of a small panic attack to reassure myself I was walking the right direction. i was, but he offered me a free ride the 5 more blocks i had to go. So nice!
i arrived in Ballina's tiny little airport to see Leah's smiling face. it's been 5 years since we worked together in Jasper and it's just like old times. She has to work some
ChurchChurchChurch

Near Federation Square in Melbourne
of the days but monday tuesday we have roadtrips and beach days and bbqs planned...weather permitting!
10 days until I'm home. ahh!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb