How to get in to a hammock


Advertisement
Published: November 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Days to Citizenship +7





Well I will give you an update on our citizenship first of all, my documents have been submitted and I have heard no response, and Caroline has her documents being submitted on 29th, I have made sure that they are all in order and just wait for them to be put in the mail.

One of my colleague I sit next to who has come over on temporary secondment, from the UK, and has embraced his time in Australia, Martin and his family have come over for 8 months or so and is due back to the UK, in April.

Martin and his family have, have come over and have done some of the usual Australian things and he has travelled a fair bit the company.

Caroline and myself took him “Under our wing” when he first came over as he came for the first couple of months before his wife and daughter came over , and he lived a peculiar existence in this unusual period, so we took him out for a couple of meals and introduced him as best we could to Canberra.

The other week,
The Eve's FamilyThe Eve's FamilyThe Eve's Family

Martin, Amanda and Libby
I asked Martin what they were doing for the weekend and he said they had no plans, which he replied they had nothing on, we asked if, in the time they had been in Australia, they had ever been out and cooked on an open fire, sat drinking beer and just looking at the stars, they replied that they hadn’t but they would love to do it.

We formulated a plan, and decided that we would go out on Saturday night, pick a nice spot and cook on a camp oven.

Our initial plan was to go to Honey Suckle Creek, as a day visitor, pick a “Fire spot” and cook our evening meal, I phoned the ranger station and asked if they had if the area was busy and they said they were not and there was a fire ban, but as long as you could keep “Your Fire” in the designated area, there would be no problem.

Excellent, I thought and looked forwards to the weekend.

Saturday came, and I went down to my Saturday Spiritual home ”ARB” the off road people, as I wanted to see if they had any pallets I could cut up, as I wanted some nice soft wood as kindling, for our Saturday nights fire.

I asked the boys this question and they said, all the pallets are down the back and I could help myself, I promised not to make a mess and drove the truck down the back of ARB and whipped out the chainsaw out as It would be easier to go through the pallets than with a bow saw.

In no time at all I had plenty of small slats of soft wood timber that would be just great for tonight’s fire, and the next step, I ashamedly have to say, was I had to go and buy, yes I said buy some hard wood to burn as we had both been flat out at work and had no time to gather any.

There is a place in Fyshwick that sells hardwood timber to burn, so I rocked up and the guy said, just pull it on to the weigh bridge and I will weigh the truck.

3200 Kilo’s the fella’s said, how much I said, in disbelief, that’s 3.2 Tonnes I think, as I was standing there dumbfounded, I just
Yes she made it.Yes she made it.Yes she made it.

Amanda made it in to the Hammock
casually ask the fella if they had any bags made up and he said yes, twenty bucks, Oh that will do, and a bag was chucked in to the back of the truck.

The bag of wood was red gum, which was going to take ages to burn with a lot of heat, great for a camp fire.



When I got home I called the ranger station again just to check the availability and they said they were absolutely chock-a-blog and no spaces were available.

I had to take advice from my chief navigator and get another option for where we could go this evening and Caroline

suggested that we go to The Cotter Dam, where we knew there was a great camp site, that had fire pits, the weather was excellent so we new it would be busy.

We met in Canberra, and Martin, Amanda and Libby, who was asleep in her booster seat, followed us out to the Cotter Dam camp site.

When we arrived, it was heaving, but all the days visitors where sitting on the grass and where in the river swimming, but nobody really was using the
And anotherAnd anotherAnd another

Libby made it in to the hammock as well
fire pits, so at least we had somewhere to have our camp oven to cook.

We set up our camp chairs, the Hammock and the awnings on the truck and just sat and enjoyed a hot and sunny Saturday afternoon.

About 5.30 the whole place cleared, everyone had packed up and gone home and we had the place to ourselves, which was excellent.

The fire was soon started and in no time was just going so well, the curry had been prepared and was in the camp oven was waiting to be placed in to the fire.

Caroline had made some single sized apple pies which we snuggled away our fridge, for our desert along with the cream, and they looked beautiful.

The fire had started to burn down nicely and the contents of the camp oven was bubbling away nicely, the day had crowned in it majesty, and the, stars were just waking up and showing themselves, it was magnificent.

Libby and Martin had wandered off with our LED torches to see if they could see any wildlife but they were out of luck, when they got back it was time to serve dinner, so we took the camp oven off the fire and we all ate our dinner and even though we say it ourselves it was fantastic.

It was getting darker and darker and thus the stars were getting brighter and brighter and we sat in our camp chairs with our necks craned to the sky, just looking in awe.

We carefully regale some of our stories of our travel, without wishing to bore anyone and I just happen to say that I had had a Didgeridoo lesson when we were in Freemantle at the most awesome shop, “Didgeridoo Breath” and Martin was really interested in the “Didge” so with the doors open on the truck, we put a disc in to the CD player of an Australian fella called Ash Dargen, who is an amazing Aboriginal Didge player.

Our guests loved It, (Pikey and Gaz) “no we didn’t do the chicken dance”.

What we did was get our “Travelling “ Didge out, the one I purchased at Didgeridoo breath and we all had a “Blow”

It was great to get it out again, there is nothing quite like, a camp fire a dark night and trying to play the Didgeridoo, what great fun.

Libby was tired, we had eaten a great camp fire dinner, drank a few beers, looked at the stars and all had a blow on the Didgeridoo, what a great evening, we had had,



We packed up the truck, put everything back in and our guests followed us back most of the way until we turned off to home, whilst Martin, Amanda and Libby went back to Canberra.

We hope that our visitors had a little taste of the great fun we have.

Advertisement



13th January 2012

christmas photos?
next blog please.....

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb