Wonderful Life


Advertisement
North America
July 19th 2016
Published: July 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

19 Jul 2016: Around 1990, I read a book written by Stephen Jay Gould, professor of paleontology at Harvard University. It was entitled "Wonderful Life the Burgess Shale and the Nature of History" and dealt with the explosion of life in the Cambrian age, it's demise and burial and discovery over 570 million years later. Well, it made a lasting impression on me and I fantisized that someday, I would travel to Yoho National Park in British Columbi, Canada and see for myself the wondrous lifeforms that had been locked away for over half a billion years.

Today is that day. We drove West on route 1, the Trans Canada Highway to the town of Field and the locale of the Burgess Shale. I relayed the above tale to the woman at the visitor's center and was surprised to find his book, which I quickly purchased. There is a lecturer who gives talks three times a week and, one can arrange for a guided hike up the mountain to see the layers of shale. If you think you can have a sample, as I once did, you would be wrong. In addition to being in a National Park, the place has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The little Trilobite earrings Jeanne bought were dug up at a site in Utah. No souveniers.

We did get to view the Trilobite beds from outside the visitor's center high on the slope of Mt. Stephen. That was close enough for me. I am so thankful that my Heavenly Father, the Father of my spirit would bless me with the sight of part of the creative process set in motion by His Son Jehovah and the Archangel Michael.

We drove across the Kicking Horse River to a natural bridge under which it coursed. Jeanne and I have seen the natural bridges in Canyon lands National Park. This one was smaller but the water continued under,it with so much force, one can only wonder how all that water made it through. The water was full of tiny flakes of granite held in suspension. This "Granite Flour" as it is called gives the water a variety of hues ranging from white to pale green to a striking shade of blue depending upon its concentration. It was totally unexpected and something new to both of us.

The road took us to Emerald Lake, from which vantage point we could look up to see the site of the Burgess Shale. Again I was just so grateful I was able to realize my dream to this extent. We were looking at a portion of the creation.

After that we witnessed something more mundane. Early in the 20th century, the Canadian Pacific Railroad built a line that went through Kicking Horse Pass. It was the steepest grade in Canada if not the world; 4.5%. To lower the grade, the railroad stretched the route out to accommodate two spiral tunnels
Think of it as a large right triangle. If you lengthen the base you decrease the slope of the hypoteneuse. Anyway it is very unusual and there is a site from which you can view part of it and even see trains use it. There are also many signs explaining it's layout and construction.

I read one sign (all signs are in both French and English) and waited for the gentleman to my left to finish reading his sign and move down to the next one. No movement. He wasn't reading the sign. He was looking out into the woods or something. Then it started to sprinkle and I thought, "O good. Now maybe he will move." No, he did not move. He was wearing a very nice North Face rain jacket, the kind with zippers, snaps and drawcord with a hood. As the sprinkles continued, he pulled out of one of his pockets a cheap plastic poncho and put it over his expensive rain jacket! It was hilarious. Jeanne and I had a good laugh over it on the drive back to the coach.

Today's excursion was great.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd July 2016

Wonderful Life
What a cool experience. I need to get a map out to see where you guys are. Thanks for keeping us up to date. Why'd you buy the book if you already had it? Just to have a current copy? Hope Jeanne continues to recover and that you keep having fun. Be safe!
22nd July 2016

Wonderful Life
The first time I read it was a library book. Now I get to read it again (and again) in the light of the fullness of the Gospel which will make it all the more revealing.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb