In the Yukon!


Advertisement
North America
July 8th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived back on schedule after long drive to Fort Nelson, BC last night. In Whitehorse YT now!-Sat

Along drive to Ft. Nelson, I saw a coyote and baby moose within a few minutes. Nice Super 8 in Vermillion, so much that I booked Super 8 in Ft Nelson as well. No remote for cable, but got 25$ off! Also girl named Marie (Fillipino) at hotel was very nice! Slept like a baby.. Today was amazing. Saw 4 black bear cubs (all separate sightings), 2 more moose and tons, literally of bison. Had to stop car due to bison roadblock! A whole herd had camped out on both sides of roadway and were crossing left/right like it was happy hour for them! Huge animals! British Columbia is very beautiful, Yukon not as much (except for bear run ning across road!) except Canadian rockies are breathtaking, still have snow caps. Went to 'Boston Pizza' tonight (it's a canadian thing there are none in MA, but I think they do exist in AK). Tomorrow I make my last trek and wil be back in the USA when I pull into Alaska. I will be meeting my new principal. Anyway it is past midnight, but still light out

By the way, I am writing this for personal reasons to remember the trip better. Please do not think me vain or presumptuous! In case you want to know about where I am.. here it is! It has been a challenge, it was not easy, but I was sure that it coul be done (google: '91 year-ol Mainer drivers crosscountry to AK 11,000 mi roundtrip") l I hope to never 'retire' from life either. Check it out, it's a great article. Stay well and goodnight

Advertisement



9th July 2012

At Last!
Mike, It was SO good to hear from you last night that you had reached Delta Junction! Laughed at Miss Doo in the Yukon Inn. She looks ready for more adventures and going "under cover"? I noticed that your blog indicates "0" followers and I KNOW that Uncle Bob, Sally and Susan besides me do read your messages......... since comment replies are private, not sure if anyone else has left a comment. How do you become a "follower" I realize that it's a little late, but I thought one automatically became one when the responded to your blog... Will you continue once you establish where you will be living? Or is it only when you "travel"? So glad you're there. Left a message for your brother just before I left with Ann to visit Susan in Charlton and shop/eat in Sturbridge. Just got back home. It's a little after 5 o'clock. Ann and I will go out to dinner tonight, just the two of us. Elton and Joel will be treated to a surf/turf dinner at the SCC after their "Mutt and Jeff" golf tournament. I used to think they had to pair a short person with a tall person when they made up their partners but I guess not. Love you................. Mom

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb