CANADA DAY-STOMPIN' GOOD FUN!


Advertisement
North America
July 2nd 2012
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am a Canadian, free to speak without fear, free to worship in my own way, free to stand for what I think right, free to oppose what I believe wrong, or free to choose those who shall govern my country. This heritage of freedom I pledge to uphold for myself and all mankind. John Diefenbaker (From the Canadian Bill of Rights, July 1, 1960)



We were proud Canadians yesterday here in Mexico. Tattoos and Canadian T-shirts ruled the day which brought lots of attention! Mexican independence day is huge here, and they were really thrilled to see us enthusiastically celebrating our country with pride. I am reallllly interested to see what the Americans will do on July 4th. They'd better have some fireworks and hoopla here which is a VERY VERY special and important day on July 4th.............(YES my birthday!) 😱

The day was spectacular; started off hazy and we got a few rolls of thunder but it blew over and before long it was hot and sunny with another day of 40C. We are lovin' it as it always has that warm breeze here.

After photo-ing/videotaping the last of the condos Al and I were free as the breeze to do as we pleased. So we decided to tour more around Playa, and we did a bit of shopping and walked the beach which was less busy due to the alcohol ban. Marth partook in one of those "yabba dabba doo" deep tissue massages on the beach so she felt like gumby the rest of the day. The girls swam, hit the ocean to body surf, and Ava made some sand castles. I finally got deep into my new book and I gotta tell you, it's so good you can feel a breeze cause I'm flipping through the pages so fast! Sitting on this wraparound balcony mere feet above the sand overlooking the ocean and beach is something you'd dream about. We are totally enjoying ourselves and getting freshly made smoothies delivered on a tray to our balcony by Odin is a real treat (as if we were rich folks or something but the truth is we know the smoothies are a treat once in a while and the kids even paid for their own yesterday!) Whatta ya think? Money grows on "palm" trees or something???

By about 7 PM we were ready to get all our Canadian gear on which was red & white glow bracelets/necklaces, T-shirts, red&white leis, hats, flashing hats and flashing red glasses. I gotta say we were a big hit walking up 5th avenue. The Mexicans were calling out "hey Canadians, you rock!" and "you're from Canada eh"? Those were funny...I am proud to report that a lot of the tourists from all over the world knew we were Canadian and knew our flag. We saw a few other Canadians but NOBODY was flashed out like we were I'll tell you that. I spent a few hours shopping at home to get this look!!! (those tattoos aren't so funny to deal with at midnight when you gotta get them off of you and other little faces!) We had a fantastic Canada day dinner at El Diez which was more Italian but had a bit of everything. Ravioli, steak, pizza and Caesar salad all hit the spot nicely! It was quite good and the server was lots of fun and has a friend who lives in Ottawa and plays in a band call SoulJazz Orchestra. Marth knows someone in that band too; rather ironic! (Susan you and Cory might know this group?!) They are playing Bluesfest on July 14th, maybe we'll check them out. The restaurant suprised us with dessert on the house with candles for Canada Day. That's just downright cool!!!

After dinner we strolled 5th and it being really dark we were flashing nice and bright (flashing as in "flashing hats" not Al in a trenchcoat flashing unsuspecting people or anything rude like that 😉

Today we were supposed to drive to Akumal to snorkel but it has been moved to tomorrow as Luis our guide is working today. So Al has been studying and preparing for his scuba diving certification which starts today. He's really amped up about it, looking forward to the dives and finally getting certified.

Hopefully I'll have lots to report back to you guys in the next few days with our upcoming activities. We'd love to tour Isla Mujeres (island of the women) and snorkel there and you can rent golf carts or scooters to tour the island which sounds like fun and possibly a blog in the making with Marth behind the wheel (HAHAHaHAHA...oh sorry Marth!)

Right now it's sunny, hot with a warm breeze and a coffee's calling my name and my book is silently calling my name. I am nervous with anticipation to get back to where I left off and see what is going on with this amazing thriller.

In between reading, I hope I can somehow fit in a massage with this very busy schedule I have (hee hee) and I'll do my darndest to have a cold frothing lime margarita for you all!!! Don't you all love summer vacation; I think most of us live for it year 'round and experiencing it here was one brilliant idea. Guess who had that BRILLIANT idea???? Insert picture of Sally here.

How did you all celebrate Canada day?

"If you don't believe your country should come before yourself, you can better serve your country by livin' someplace else." Stompin' Tom Connors

Stompin Sal!

(PS pics below & be sure to let your fingers do the talkin' & send me a message beloooooow!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



2nd July 2012

Canada Day
Wow, I should have guessed that you guys would go all out for Canada's birthay.
3rd July 2012

Canada Day
Yes we went all out; the kids weren't too happy to have to carry big Canada day hats on the way here. BUT when the big day rolled around it seems I was a hero. They loved it. It was a great out of country experience to celebrate Canada day here!
3rd July 2012
Ava in Canada Day gear

Ava!! You look so cute all dolled up in your Canada Day Gear! Did you all have fire works down there as well?
3rd July 2012
Ava in Canada Day gear

Canada Day
No fireworks sadly but lots of culture that's for sure. I think Ava was the most excited of us all; she was tattooed and in her gear by 7am ready to roll!
3rd July 2012
Group pic

You all look great! Hope you all have a wonderful Canada Day in Mexico!
3rd July 2012
Doing it with Canadian pride!

Seriously?? You all have to be the cutest bunch out there!
3rd July 2012
Doing it with Canadian pride!

Canada Day
Well were sure were the most original that's for sure! A few people asked if we'd sell our hats!!
3rd July 2012
El Faro Condos

I need a vacation like this.. Just me, myself and I... hehe
3rd July 2012
El Faro Condos

Canada Day
We stayed across from this place this past Feb. It's beautiful but very noisy with a big crowd. Where we are, much smaller & no restaurant attached which keeps the noise down significantly.
3rd July 2012
New Ice Cream Shop (US owned)

Was it yummy?
3rd July 2012
New Ice Cream Shop (US owned)

Canada Day
This ice cream they say is imported from the US. Despite that ;) the girls did get some and they loved it. This company sure has original flavors unlike what I've seen before.
3rd July 2012
Sizzling steak

This looks..... way... too...good!
3rd July 2012
Sizzling steak

This looks..... way... too...good!
3rd July 2012
Sizzling steak

Canada Day
It tasted good too; any food that I don't have to cook always looks good, even a leaf of lettuce with a splash of dressing!!
3rd July 2012

Looks like you all had a wonderful Canada Day and enjoyed yourselves!
3rd July 2012

Canada Day
Hi Leah! We sure did kick up our heels. We're still wearing our tattoos around! Hope you're enjoying the summer vacation so far!
3rd July 2012

Canada Day
You did the country PROUD! Good work
3rd July 2012

Canada Day
We tried Dianna!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb