York, North England


Advertisement
North America
April 5th 2012
Published: April 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So this May I'm going to be heading back to York.

When I graduated from highschool I decided I wanted an adventure, and (at 18) I moved out and over the atlantic to London. After a week in London, I went for an over-night trip to York. Why? Because my grandmother grew up there, and I wanted to see her hometown!

I went for a night, stayed for a week, and was still there 8 months later. It was definitely one of the best times in my life. I met such amazing people (mostly travelers, but also some locals) and had some great experience working and living in York. It's much different than London, and because most people who come to "work in England" go to London, it was great to get to experience a different part of England, that is a little smaller, and cosier than London.

There are a number of things that I loved about York, and even though I haven't been there for awhile, I'm quite positive alot of these thingd wouldn't have changed.

First of all, it's still surrounded by Roman walls. You can touch them, walk on them sit on them. They surround the city making the charm and beauty of the city even more apparent. Aside from the roman walls, there has been alot less modern buildings built within the walls. So you still have the old city charm of cobble stone streets, the gramped alleyway of the shambles, and old charming buildings. It's fantastic!

The atmosphere in York is also lovely. Not only can you have crazy parties on the weekends at night, but the days are filled with families at the markets, and in town exploring all the shops and bakeries. It's really got the charming feel of a small town at some points. It has a cosy, comfortable feeling.

It's a city, but still has that perfect amount of small town charm.

I definitely think that, if you haven't considered it before, you should definitely consider visitng York. I am definitely excited to be heading there again!



Ps. If anyone wants any tips, feel free to ask! (I just might share the best fish n chip spot in the city 😊 )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb