Rihla # 20


Advertisement
North America
February 27th 2012
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Columbian Exchange and the Triangle Trade affected the food we eat today because of the available ingredients.

Family Recipe: Vanilla popsicles


• Ice cube tray set it aside
• 1 Pot
• Evaporated milk- 1 Can
• Sugar- .5 cup
• Cinnamon- 1 tablespoon
• Vanillas extract- 3 tablespoons
• Boil all ingredients
• Let it cool
• Put it in ice cube tray
• Put plastic wrap over ice cube tray
• Stick Popsicle sticks in the tray
• Freeze


1) The recipe came from my great grandmother because it was a snack she made in Honduras for my mom and aunt; it was like ice cream.

2) My mom’s side of the family identifies with this recipe because my great grandmother would make it because it was not only delicious, but it was hot. Now, they eat it on hot days and it reminds my family of my great grandmother because she died at a young age.

3) I think that people should have access to a variety of food because they not only understand other places more, but they would have a different ways to get nutrients. They also won’t get bored with the food that is available.

4) I think that food is an important aspect of one’s culture because it is just another way to characterize one’s identity. Food can help us understand where someone comes from and what ingredients are available there.
<!--EndFragment-->

Advertisement



Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb