Hamilton Pool


Advertisement
North America
December 17th 2010
Published: December 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dec 12 Hamilton Pool
To get to Hamilton Pool you go out of Austin on Hwy 71 west past Bee Cave and go south on 3238 about 8 miles. There is day use only and an entry fee. It has limited parking and in summer hard to get into but this time of year there were only a half dozen or so people there besides me. There is a rather steep climb down into the canyon but it is only about 1/4 mile down and 1/4 mile back up( with benches spaced along the way for resting).
It was quite nice. I spent a good hour moving around the pool and sitting on various rocks savoring the experience. I had forgotten both of my better cameras in Georgetown so had to rely on my "snapshot" Sony Cyber Shot for pictures.
We haven't had much rain in the hill country this year and so the waterfall wasn't as big as usual. Still; it was worth the trip for the feeling of peace and tranquility, the water was beautiful, and the hike down and back allowed me to get my exercise for the day.
Coming out of Hamilton pool I continued on Hwy 3238 till it crossed the Guadalupe River and became 962 and continued on into Round Mountain. Not much in Round Mountain except an old looking truck stop so continued on to Johnson City.
Since my destination for the day was Kerrville I continued on through Stonewall and stopped to rest at a rest area west of it. This is a nice rest area and has some picnic tables in the back away from the highway and overnight parking is allowed next to them. I considered staying there for the night but it was too early in the day and figured I would go on thru Fredericksburg and to Kerrville. I figured I could look around a little bit in Fredericksburg and then go on to Kerrville or just park overnight at the SuperWalmart in Fredericksburg. More on Fredericksburg and Kerrville in the next entry.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb