Week Two!


Advertisement
North America
October 23rd 2010
Published: October 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Visiting a real American Town!



Today Linda had to drop off some candles (she makes beeswax candles!) in a town called Stillwater which is one of the FIRST towns ever built in Minnesota! So I came along so I could see a proper old-school american town 😊 (Watertown though awesome is..kind of small!) Stillwater practically borders the next state eastwards called Wisconsin and they are only separated by a river. We ventured up and down the shops and there was this AMAZING christmas shop that sold absolutly fabulous decorations! I think it was german as it had all the old fashioned 'cuckoo clocks!' and LOADS of wooden nutcrackers in the shape of people!! I literally felt like it was christmas already! Then we went to a proper All American Diner!! Yes there were little booths, yes there were metal signs all over the walls and YES I went into uber-tourist mode and took pictures :P So while I was getting strange looks from regular ordinary people I took photos of my meal and the walls! I ordered a Vanilla Malt which was SO GOOD! It had the texture of slightly melted icecream and tasted damn nice! It even had the quintessential little glaced red cherry and whipped cream on top! (which made my day..!) And a cheese burger with chips. Now one thing that my brain cannot comprehend is BLOODY CHIPS! chips are godam made of potatoes, you have ketchup with them and they are damn chips ok! Why oh why do americans called crisps chips >:ยท Its so confusing. Its on of the few things that i really hate! So there I sat expecting a burger and 'french fries'...grr...but no i got CRISPS?! Yar...annoying! Anyhoos my awesome vanilla malt made up for it 😊 We then continued to meander around Stillwater and then went into one of those werid shops that sells everything from Buddas, to....dog poop calenders! Yes people you heard it here! Someone somewhere actually made a calender devoted to dog poop! Oh boy I wanted to buy loads and give them to mon ami's for xmas but somehow I didn't think they'd appreicate it as much as I would 😊 Mmm... One thing I do have to say is I LOVE some american arcitecture! It is AMAZING! Half the houses have bloody turrets around here! And they are HUGE! They look like haunted houses 😊 J'adore them! So that was my day! And its now raining so aurevoir.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Bridge joining Wisconsin and MinnesotaThe Bridge joining Wisconsin and Minnesota
The Bridge joining Wisconsin and Minnesota

The bridge is SO cool! unlike bridges in england it doesnt cut in half and move up like a moat it just moves a whole portion right up!
Typical American House in StillwaterTypical American House in Stillwater
Typical American House in Stillwater

Apologies for fuzziness..we were driving at the time!


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb