Day at Epcot -- enjoying Food and Wine Festival


Advertisement
North America
November 9th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, Nov 8: Drinkin’ mah way ‘round the “World”

Well, not exactly. I went to Epcot this afternoon (after a visit to the Outlet Mall Disney Store) -- fun to be doing WDW in a leisurely manner -- not trying to get there first thing in the morning, and close the place down at night. I got a Fastpass for Soarin’ -- for 5 hours after I got the FP. It’s the last day of the Food and Wine Festival, and while a little busy, nothing like the mob last night. And I did my ritual ride on the Journey Into Imagination with Figment -- Figment is a favorite character of mine, and I’m sad that they no longer have him “in person.”

I’ve wanted to try the Grand Marnier Orange Slush in France, which is a regular offering (not just for F&W) -- it’s like $9.50 with tax, and very yummy -- almost painfully cold going down, tho. Browsed through some shops and read the F&W booth signs. Finally went for a snack and beer (Sam Adams Cream Stout -- a regular bottle serving for $5.50); I ordered a crab cake, but he rang up a lobster roll, so I ended up with both from the nice server, for the same price (I paid $13 something for the snack and beer; the roll was $7 something I think, and the crab cake $4 something -- I liked the crab cake better, but they were both good).

Tried to find some “hidden Mickey’s” to take photos of -- found a few, but missed some that are listed in the book. Had Goat. . . Red wine (tiny) at Cape Town booth, then got the usual Margarita in Mexico -- frozen, I did half lime/half mango -- scrumptious. Sat on a bench outside the Mexico pavilion and had a leisurely “watching the crowds go by” time while I drank it. Then I went on the Fiesta boat ride twice -- took a few pics (“verboten”) -- I love the fiber lights fireworks, and the fake Mayan stuff on that ride. And I like the changes they’ve made (I got a character photo with caballero Donald after I got my margarita).

It wasn’t the true “Drinking around the World” thing -- which is having a drink from each of the standard country’s pavilions -- but that’s way too expensive -- just the four I had was close to $30.00 (can get a nice bottle of Southern Comfort for less than that!). In the shop at Coronado Springs Resort, a 6-pack of beer is $31.50!!!

I went to the Universe of Energy ride, which I enjoy, but we had just gotten onto the ride vehicles, when they announced it had broken down, so we had to wait for someone to evacuate us -- very strange! There were fewer than 100 people in the entire area. Well, it was time for my Soarin’ ride so I headed back over there, and enjoyed that instead -- it’s a really fun one for an old Californian like me (and people who’ve never been to CA seem to like it also).

I went to pick up my Visa character photo, which was with Goofy, Max, and Minnie, and then rode Spaceship Earth. How can it be as fun to see all that fake old stuff as it is to see the real stuff in a true museum? I like the improved version a lot (altho I always liked the original with Walter Cronkite’s narration, too).

Okay, now I can see why people can leave before Illuminations -- I had a lovely day and evening in Epcot, and I saw the show last night -- so I was ready to leave a little after 8 p.m., and it was much easier to get out of the parking lot. Another excellent day in WDW (actually better than many I’ve had in the past -- that I’ve also enjoyed); not hot, not tired, not in pain, not cranky, etc.

(Sorry I can’t post photos on my blog from the old laptop -- will have to add them in later).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb