Backstage Magic tour and castle ice lights


Advertisement
North America
November 11th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, November 10, 2009: Backstage Magic tour and castle lighting ceremony

Always bring a flashlight when you travel!

Got “home” to no power. It had started sprinkling as I was leaving MK, and raining as I looked for my car in Epcot parking lot. It was pouring when I stopped at the Outlet Center, and at the turn-off to the timeshare, the street was dark (at least the signal lights were working). The room keys are battery-operated, so I could get in and find my flashlight in my suitcase. There’s some ambient light here, of course, and there are front porch battery-operated lights. Fortunately I was planning on a cold asparagus snack -- so got that and shortly after, the power came back on. An interesting end to another lovely day -- got through the whole day with no rain, but I expect the people who paid extra for the “Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party” tonight won’t be happy to be at MK until midnight in the rain.

I had tried to get a reservation for the Backstage Magic tour 3 months ago, but was unsuccessful, but I went ahead and asked at guest relations yesterday if there might be one spot available, which there was. Couldn’t use my Visa discount, but oh well -- I had been wanting to do it, so went ahead and signed up. It costs $219, but I’m counting it as my birthday present -- well, this whole trip is being counted for that. Maybe I can count this as my Marine Corps birthday present (today’s 11/10/09 --- 9, 10, 11 backwards, but I don’t remember what USMC birthday that makes it).

We were supposed to meet in front of Epcot, to the far right near Guest Relations by 8:45 a.m., and most of us were there long before that, altho one young couple did arrive late and have to run to catch up with us at the bus. They actually came out a little before 8:45 to check our photo ID, give us our lanyard nametags and “Pals” -- the radio headset gadgets, which worked very well, and weren’t too uncomfortable. I took some reminder notes throughout the day about where we went because my memory gets a little foggy with that much overload these days, and we weren’t allowed to take pictures backstage, expect in horticulture area.

Briefly, it was a full day -- included a stop or two behind each of the four parks and lunch at Whispering Canyon Café. Backstage at the American Adventure in Epcot; Main Street and (backstage) the Utilidor in Magic Kingdom; Tower of Terror and Creative Costuming at the Studios; the Parade warehouse at Animal Kingdom, the horticulture area, and onstage to see the Jammin’ Jungle Expedition Parade in AK. Various stagecraft production areas. Lots more than that -- will add more later. We got back to Epcot about 4:45 -- it was a full, very interesting day. Would definitely recommend the tour to Disney-philes/lovers. Lots of anecdotes/fun facts that I didn’t get “recorded.” The tour guides did a great job, and it was a very enjoyable tour.

I had gone to MK yesterday, partly to see the ice-lights on the castle, but it didn’t start until today, so I rode the Monorail over to MK and puttered around for awhile; had a bowl of soup from Sleepy Hollow snack place, near the great side view of the castle going into Liberty Square -- an excellent snack. Then I went and parked myself on my folding seat cane (worth its weight in gold), in front of the castle. So totally worth the wait -- there’s a little show with Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, and Donald, and the Fairy Godmother and Cinderella -- it’s rather breath-taking and/or tear jerking, if you like such things (I realize it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s absolutely gorgeous).

(Check back in a couple of weeks if you want to see more tour details, and photos -- I’m using an old laptop, and I can’t post photos from it).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb