Another road trip to Florida


Advertisement
North America
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I don't want to make false promises, since I sure blew it with the totally unfinished/barely started June Florida trip. I'm in Florida again, and at least have written up some entries. Here's a quick synopsis so far:

At least temporarily have internet access -- for some reason, it really bothers me to pay extra for internet when I'm travelling. Maybe it's the frugal part of my nature that allows me to watch pennies, so that I have travelling money for these kinds of trips. Have seen lots of interesting things; done way too much driving; weather has been pretty cooperative. Will try to get some travel blogs published ( I have been getting them written up along the way, so they likely will be posted out of order) -- sorry my writing isn't more entertaining; guess it's all those years of being a dry, beauraucratic writer (and not sure I can even spell that anymore!).

Have been to the Salvador Dali Museum in St. Petersburg (enjoyed it); to the Everglades NP (and briefly to Biscayne Bay NP); drove thru some of Miami and South Beach; collected some sand for DD; did a brief overview tour of the Keys and Key West (visited the Hemingway House to see the polydactyl cats); went to Flamingo Gardens (nice place); had a key lime milkshake at "Robert Is Here" fruitstand; drove through Lion Country Safari west of West Palm Beach (awesome), and have seen the fireworks at Magic Kingdom (probably a few other odds and ends, but those are pretty much the main things --- oh, took the glassbottom ride at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park -- also fun). The next several days, including birthday #65, will be mostly at Disney World -- the kids will be down Wednesday. Then a couple days relaxing at the beach in Hilton Head, and then on home. Am over 2200 miles so far for the trip (and beginning to question my plan of driving to North Dakota sometime in the next year or two).

This week I'm in a lovely 2-bedroom Marriott timeshare -- going to be hard to leave here and go home. the problem with doing a travel blog in this area is that I'm anxious to go out and about, and then I get too tired to do the posting, esp. of photos. Will be heading out to Epcot pretty soon this afternoon. Stayed at Disney's Coronado Springs resort last night, and enjoyed the opening of the pool this morning when they turn on the water features; it has great Mayan theming, and a fun, gentle, long waterslide.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb