Harmony to Cloudcroft, New Mexico


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 19th 2013
Published: September 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Harmony to Cloudcroft, NM


Mill Pond Park in San SabaMill Pond Park in San SabaMill Pond Park in San Saba

This would be a great place to take a break from a long drive
Tuesday September 17 – Harmony to Cloudcroft, New Mexico – I got up early and departed Harmony around 0900. I went through Temple/Belton and out on Hwy 190 towards Lampasas stopping at San Saba to check out the Mill Pond Park. It was quite impressive and the water with a good breeze made certain areas of it quite cool. After visiting the park I had some disappointing beef enchiladas at a local restaurant and then headed west towards Eden. I checked out the “Garden of Eden” while I was in Eden but didn’t walk through it as it was hot.

After Eden I drove on to San Angelo and had intended on checking out the State Park there but upon seeing the dam for the lake remembered having went there earlier this summer and the river going through it was dry. I’ve seen enough burnt up from the heat countryside to suit me so I went on to Big Spring. At Big Spring I decided to overnight at the SuperWalmart parking lot there.

I had some KFC for supper and then went back to the MacDonalds to get on the internet using their Wayport Access for a bit. Then I found a quiet spot with the other RV’s on the side of the store. The 18 wheelers were parking up in front near the highway.

There is a Pizza Hut right next to the SuperWalmart so I might have that next time I come through.

After I got back to the SuperWalmart I let the seat back and went to sleep around 11PM. However I woke up around 1:30 AM and couldn’t go back to sleep so I started out again and drove till 5AM where I stopped at a large parking lot next to a weigh Station just as I got into New Mexico and parked next to a car overnighting there and went back to sleep again.

Wednesday 18 Sept. - I woke up around 8:30 AM and the occupant of the black car overnighting next to me was getting out. She was in her 20’s and had a huge dog with her. I reckon she was plenty “safe” with that dog. She walked the dog I guess in preparation before taking off again.

The guy who worked the weigh station showed up and opened up the scales. Big trucks started pulling in to be weighed so I decided it was time to head on again.

I drove into Hobbs and checked out the western museum there. Then I headed towards Lovington.

The MCD is on the Northwest side of Hobbs right next to the SuperWalmart on the North Lovington Hwy (Hwy 18). I stopped at the MacDonalds there for my morning coffee and to get on the Internet.

I noticed several RV’s overnighting in the SuperWalmart parking lot so it might be a good option for that.

So after making a potty break and Internet check I loaded up again and headed towards Lovington and on to the Lincoln National Forest and Cloudcroft.

I stopped at Lovington and checked out the western museum there. I then asked about a good place to eat and was told about the Jiminez Rancho Grande Mexican restaurant at 218 S. 1st Street a block off Main street(Hwy 82). They had a buffet which had both Chicken Fried Steak and Mexican food. I tried a bit of both and the salad bar. The food was very good except the Asada was way too hot for me but I am sure others would love it.

After leaving Lovington and heading West towards Cloudcroft I went through a “forest” of grasshoppers between Lovington and Artesia, thousands of them. As far as the eye could see there were grasshoppers pumping away. The smell of oil was so thick it was almost sickening. I don’t see how people could live around here.

After Artesia it was a long, hot drive till I started up the foothills of the mountains near the Lincoln National Forest. I continued west on Hwy 82 and going through the James Canyon I checked out the James Canyon campground and was thinking about staying there but there was a transit looking fellow hanging around and blowing on an “elk call”. He said he had some friends elk hunting and was calling for them. I don’t know anything about elk season so I don’t know if it was elk season or not, also they might not have wanted to pay for the licenses or stamps etc. My BS detector was going off. The guy said it was raining in the mountains and the campground would probably flood so I should probably not camp here. I didn’t know if that was the case or if he just wanted to get rid of me so his friends could bring in their illegal elk but I really didn’t feel comfortable about camping there anymore so I headed up 82 again towards Cloudcroft. (Note: I did find out on Saturday that parts of Hwy 82 in that area were badly damaged by flooding so maybe he was right.)

I put my truck in Drive instead of Overdrive and headed up the road again climbing up towards Cloudcroft. When I reached Hwy 244 just East of Cloudcroft I headed North on it and drove up a somewhat steep road to the NFS Silver campground. I had wanted to stay in the Apache campground but it was closed. I found a good site and paid for the night. Using my senior pass it only cost $9 a night instead of the usual $18.

There had obviously been some serious rain here in the past few days.

The Hot air balloon invitational in Alamogordo didn’t start till Saturday the 21 so I had plenty of time to have a good look around the Lincoln National Forest/Cloudcroft/Alamogordo area before then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

San Saba JailSan Saba Jail
San Saba Jail

San Saba Jail, built in the 1880's
Man?Man?
Man?

This looked so lifelike when I sleazed I said "excuse me".
A secure safe.A secure safe.
A secure safe.

It would take a lot of dynamite to blow this open !
Good foodGood food
Good food

They had a buffet with salad bar which served both chicken fried steak and Mexican food. Both very good. On 1st street.
A forest of "grasshoppers".A forest of "grasshoppers".
A forest of "grasshoppers".

There were thousands of grasshoppers pumping away for as far as the eye could see.
My campsite at Silver CampgroundMy campsite at Silver Campground
My campsite at Silver Campground

My campsite at Silver campground in the Lincoln National Forest. 18/2=$9 a night.


22nd September 2013

On the road again
Good to see that you are out exploring again. Looking forward to your next blog.
22nd September 2013

At the balloon fest in White Sands/ Alamagordo New Mexico.
Thanks. I'm in Alamogordo now attending the balloon fest. I'm camped up on the mountain near Cloudcroft and come down into the Tularosa Basin during the days. I attended the launch at White Sands this morning but it was cancelled account too much wind. Hopefully the launch tomorrow morning in Alamogordo at the balloon park will go off as planned. I'm at the MCD now on the Wayport Access internet connection and will head over to the balloon park in about another half hour for the evening balloon glow and fire tossing (whatever that is). : )

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb