Savannah...beautiful...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 13th 2013
Published: February 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit, my pictures don't give justice to the Old Town of Savannah...this place is simply gorgeous. I know some of you will tell me I should have gone to Charleston too....but we will keep it to Savannah this time.



I have to admit, I have not much knowledge of the American Civil War. Well...at the time...I write this, after having visited Savannah, and seen the movie Lincoln, I may know a little more than close to nothing. And when I don't know, I prefer not to start to lecture Leslie and Tiffany on a period I didn't study at school...that's the way it's done in Europe!



We arrived in Savannah early afternoon and stay in the city for a good 24 hours. Our principal activity was simply to walk around those streets. The weather was pleasant, and the athmosphere was simply amazing. Not many people around, but I really have to wonder how it is to live in such a place. Friendly people all around, but not that many people at the end.



We stay right in downtown at the Four Points by Sheraton. Past has shown me that Four Points in the States are a disappointment...this one was the exception...friendly service...and another huge place to stay! Ok, and I have to admit, it looks like they handed us the best suite in the property....life is a b....but better trying to get through it properly...



Savannah seems to have gorgeous restaurants all over the place....but once more time, thanks to the nice huge room, we eat in...With the amount of food Leslie is currently eating...getting ready to grow up way bigger (and I speak for Leslie) pretty soon...I'd rather splurge on sushis and other nice things from the local supermarket than blow the budget in restaurants! And trust me, I have the feeling this is only going to be worst pretty soon, but at least it does allow me to enjoy in great wines too!



Going around Savannah by car would be a waste....so we spent hours walking around...those trees, those squares, those parks....even the cemeteries...those wooden houses, the place is simply gorgeous...



I wish I could be a better photographer when it comes to architecure, because even if most of my pics are crap....this place is clearly not.



Trust me, one day I will invest in a better camera...one day...could come pretty soon...one which can stand winds, sands, cold...and maybe even water....



I have to admit, I'm running pretty late on my blogs, and this is not even on purpose....been out of internet reach for the last 8 days....with one more pretty cool blog to come soon. I believe in writting my blogs in the heat of the moment...who cares about typo...when it's the feeling of the moment...one thing for sure, I truly don't need to re-write my life....but one thing is true too....been on the roads and...waters a little to much lately...as always... awaiting your indulgence....and patience...



Been away from Leslie and Tiffany the last 9 days....you cannot even imagine how much I miss them...even if that not long ago...was not 9 days, but actually closer to 6 months....or more...most of you will know what I mean...



Next two blogs coming from the south...places for children...sorry...either you are an inner child...either you'll think I put way to much emphasies on my little ones...but next few entries...are for them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb