Another Day in the Desert


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 2nd 2011
Published: June 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I need to turn my iPad into a dictaphone, I have so many thoughts running through my head while driving each day, but once I get home at night and finally get to sit and think, they have all vanished into the dust that we see almost daily swirling around our neighborhood.
The highlight of this mornings trip would have to be the close call with not one but two stupid stupid antelopes! Due to the fact that they seem to blend into the dry brown earthy coloured 'pastures'' they are so very often not seen till they cross onto the ashphalt, but which time the unsuspecting driver (on this occasion -moi), has little time to slam on the brakes and do their utmost to avoid said stupid animal! And this morning I had successfully managed to avoid antelope number one and was about to pick up speed when antelope number two shows his face!

So my twice daily travels across the border between Texas and New Mexico can be, to say the least, quite eventful. But more often than not, they are quiet, reflect-full and I'm afraid to say, emotionally charged. The later being due to the time alone to think of family left at home, songs on my iPod reminding me of my girls, and being constantly assaulted with the multitude of varying and ever changing emotions and feelings due to previous mentioned reasons and the realization of where I am and what I'm doing.





















So now I sit on my bed listening to the gentle-NOT- hum of the air conditioner, which I cannot complain about as it has only just been put in and makes for life in our wee trailer to be that little bit more comfortable - watching the skies across the border light up with constant flashes of lightening. If one was to step outside, as we did earlier, the rush of cool air would be a most welcome feeling (the aircon is only going in the bedroom at this stage), and the sight out yonder, almost better than the Disneyland fireworks! At least that is the thought that came to mind. Hoping, for the locals sake, that rain surely accompanies the show. The fat drops fell momentarily as I left for home this evening, but had stopped before I had even gotten out the driveway. And I had only just found the windscreen wipers too!

So who knows what tomorrow will bring in this exciting adventure of ours, maybe rain, maybe hail,maybe even more thunder and lightening, but I will be back in my wee car at 8am and first head to the bank, yes a detouring my now familiar route,but one of the few that I've managed to navigate without incident, then make my way once again towards
New Mexico, the land of enchantment, so the welcome sign says.

In my next entry I will

Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb