A weekend off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I'm really starting to enjoy my drives to and from Clayton, New Mexico each day. While the work days are long, often I'm gone from 8am and don't get home till 7 or 8 pm that night, the days are filled with many wonderful experiences, but then what more would you expect hanging out with twin four year olds!

But it was most welcome news when I heard that we all the whole weekend off - even Paul. So early Sat morning we headed off in the car to Amarillo for a days shopping. Not of course Pauls ideal day, but he was more than happy to take me. And the new scenery on the almost two hour trip was yet another opportunity to take in the many sights of Texas. Ha! But I did on this trip decide that I really am loving the whole experience of being here, with all the diversity, I wouldn't want to live here - but six months Im sure now I can handle.

On arriving in Amarillo I quickly remembered the day we arrived and even after my previous admission, I also realised that I really don't like the big cities! Paul was sure I would be blown away with the mall and the shopping opportunities, which I must say is impressive, but once again the feeling of being so very much overwhelmed, quickly descended upon me once again. I did manage to overcome the feelings enough to have a great day of shopping, and must applaud my wonderful husband for sticking with me and not totally losing his mind with the continuous entry into the smorgasbord of shops and the rapid dislipping from our wallets, after all wasnt he the one who when we were packing to come, told me not to pack much, we would get it all once we got here! Ooh you should see the gorgeous cowgirl boots we got! Oh and the jeans!

Anyway we survived the mall, and couple of cowboy shops- all we had time for- then went to the Golden Corral for $10all you can eat buffet dinner. And boy did they have tones of food. But we did well and did not overeat.

This morning we slept in then went to the church I found last week. Once again it was great to be there as is it so very much like our home church. Good to make a few connections this week also.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb