Pre-departure meltdown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 28th 2010
Published: July 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As my departure from the U.S. looms ever closer I'm starting to, well, freak out. Thinking I had successfully packed my life into two suitcases several days early, I'd headed to the Jersey shore so to spend my last moments relaxing on the beach with my family. I'd already given up coffee because of my recent inability to sleep at night, and was oscilating between complete relaxation and momentary stress.

But now the online community has convinced me that I am still very unprepared for my trip to Japan. The gifts I packed (way down at the bottom of my suitcase) for the schools where I'll be teaching are apparently wrapped in funeral colors, and even the thought that I may have packed an inappropriately-sized shampoo bottle is overwhelming. The to-do list I completed a week ago has somehow sprouted about fifteen new tasks to complete in the next two days... what is happening to me??

Irrational meltdowns aside, though, I am still (most of the time) feeling the incredible excitement of this adventure. The images of Tokushima that I've created in my head put me in store for a beautiful year, and maybe even for becoming a hiking enthusiast? Prepared or not, next week I'll be living amongst the rivers, mountains and sacred temples of my new home. I'll see you all on the other side... of the world.

Advertisement



30th October 2010

Live your blog!
Hi Susan, I am really enjoying reading about your life in Japan! You have a real talent for writing - you make it fun and interesting to read! I am truly amazed about everything - from your decision to go on this adventure, to all the details about your life and experiences in Japan. Keep writing so I can keep reading, and enjoy every moment of your time there! Haven't read about the teaching aspect yet ... Guess you're getting to that) P.S. It doesn't seem that long ago that you and becca were sneaking in my room and scaring me - and beheading barbies and dangling them out of the bathroom window

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb