City of Bridges


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
August 11th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm here! I've started my new life in Tokushima City, which I've decided to name "City of Bridges" after the hundreds of sweet little bridges that I cross on my bicycle everyday, and that nearly hit me in the head several times when I took a boat tour of the city.

There are 138 rivers that flow through the Tokushima City area, and they all meet at the ocean which, by some divine miracle, I can see from my apartment. On the outskirts of the city lie tree-covered hills and mountains, which I can also see from my apartment as they fill with mist on rainy mornings. Before you get too jealous of me and the view of natural beauty that greets my balcony, you should know that my primary view is of warehouses and construction vehicles. But they don't block the salty ocean breeze from reaching me as I sit in my living room or stroll down my street to the grocery store.

This sleepy little city is so much the opposite of Shinjuku in Tokyo, where I started my journey, but both have given me the spontaneous "Oh, my God, I'm living in Japan" butterflies. It first happened in Tokyo while I was walking through the city to do Japanese-style karaoke. After sitting through a day's worth of speeches and workshops in the foreigner bubble of my hotel, the sudden exposure to the flashing lights of arcades and very fancy vending machines, pop music playing out into the streets, and the cool Japanese fashion (especially the wild hair cuts of the trendy Asian boys) hit me hard. I felt like I was in a circus...in a good way.

Here in Tokushima, it happened when I caught the first view off of one of those arched bridges. I promise, photos are coming soon so you can see what I mean. It felt like I'd stepped into a postcard as I looked out onto a series of more bridges in the distance and Japanese architecture lining the water, all speckled with the boats and bicycles people use to get around. So far, it's a love story between me and this charming, backwoods city. The only enemies I've made are my home appliances (seriously, my washing machine is evil) and the rain clouds. Biking through rain is not something I recommend for any spoiled American who's used to driving everywhere - nor for that matter do I recommend biking along a narrow road with no side walk while a car and a bus are squeezing past each other right next to you! (Yes, that actually happened and I almost fell off my bike due to sheer panic).

Advertisement



16th August 2010

What wonderful writing, Susan
I am captured by your blog entries - so well written and descriptive. I can't wait to read the next one!!
18th August 2010

Your blog
Hi honey, what wonderful entries you have. You describe everything so well and add some humor, too. I can tell from your tone that you are enjoying all your adventures. Tokushima sounds like it is so pretty. I am glad you are near the ocean and have all those rivers right there. Being near water is so inspirational. I love you!! Mom

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb