Instant Fame


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
August 17th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Arasowaren means something like "no fighting," standing for international peace and understanding. This is the team which I and my fellow Tokushima JETs joined in dancing through the lantern-lined streets of Tokushima City for the annual Awa Odori dance festival, the second largest dance festival in the world.

We wore Yukatas (a type of summer kimono) and proceded to butcher a traditional Japanese dance in front of hundreds (or even thousands?) of spectators, who mainly thought the whole thing was hilarious. I also couldn't help thinking it was pretty funny as I watched all of the strange, sometimes groovy, dance moves that were occurring to the beat of giant drums and shamisens. Some foreigners' interpretation of the Awa dance more closely resembled a broadway-style jazzy strut or (in the case of some dancing inept gentlemen) a caveman's march. The Japanese man next to me couldn't stop laughing at me, as we were chanting along with the music and I couldn't manage to get it right. Later I realized we'd been yelling our team's name, which was written on the giant lantern being carried right in front of me. Woops...

Apart from the comedy of the night, though, the massive expanse of colors and music and the spirit of dancing brought so much life to the city, and breathed life into the meaning of our team's name, too. By letting go of our egos and really participating in this awesome part of Japanese culture, we bridged gaps that sometimes can't be bridged with words.

During the next night of the festival, we got a chance to sit and watch the dancing, and when my friends went home early I decided to stay for a little while on my own. With a simple and soundless nod of the head, a Japanese woman nearby me on the bleachers became my friend. And when the professional dancing was over, she gestured for me to join in the parade of spectators as they took to the streets in the final Awa dance. So I ended the festival just as I'd started it, parading through the streets performing a foreign traditional dance, and in so doing becoming a part of Japanese culture and a friend of its people.

Why, you ask, did I name this post "Instant Fame?" I woke up with the other JETs the morning after our dance with Arasowaren to find that our picture was in the newspaper!


Advertisement



19th August 2010

Proud of You
Hi honey, We are so proud of all you are doing. It sounds like you are making the most of every moment. I am glad you getting to meet so many people in your area and that they are so friendly to you. Your dancing sure has paid off!! xoxoxooxo
19th August 2010

Now we really need pictures.
I want to see the newspaper photo. You have to share that! I'm stoked you are keeping a blog too. Keep us posted!! Cousin Matt
27th August 2010

Figuring Out the Food
Hi, It sounds like you are handling the food challenge well! Remember to stay clear of the ones posing as tater tots, they could be octopus eyes. That is what happened to me in Japan. But the vegetable tempura-mmmm good! Love you!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb