Chapter 29 Travels with Cali


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
November 13th 2009
Published: November 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Water DragonsWater DragonsWater Dragons

These irrigation lines captured my imagination. There were two different kinds, but I liked these the best.
Chapter 29: Travels with Cali


July 10: Time to move on. I left Ben and Debi and headed across Idaho. After hearing the hot temperatures everywhere I decided to stay north and visit Yellowstone instead of going down to Nevada. I will have to visit that state in a cooler season.! Today is a bittersweet day, the one year anniversary of Arnie's death. Kathleen and Berry called. She remembered the significance of the day. What a sweetie!

This part of Idaho is mostly farm country, but beautiful. I encountered more of the huge irrigation equipment that fascinates me. I call them “water dragons” because that's what they look like to me. As I got closer to Wyoming, I saw the backside of the Grand Teton mountain range. I think they are just as beautiful from the Idaho side, but I don't think I have ever seen any pictures of them from the west side. The Grand Teton National Park, of course, is in Wyoming on their east side. Anyway, I took some pictures for comparison, so you can see for yourself and compare.

July 11: Entered Yellowstone today about noon. The first thing I saw was one
Grand TetonsGrand TetonsGrand Tetons

This is the Tetons from the Idaho side. No snow on them in July.
of the colorful geyser pools. After photographing that I went on to “Paint Pots”, a group of geyser pools of various colors. That one required a lot of walking and climbing to get to. After that I was pretty tired so I headed to the north end of the park to a campground near Mammoth Hot Springs. After settling in to a beautiful site, I fed Cali and me, then walked around. What a beautiful spot surrounded by so many mountains. Later I sat outside and looked at a million stars!!

Cali—I'm cooped up again, but I really don't mind. The last time I went outside wasn't too much fun.! I go from window to window though, there are so many critters to watch. Lots of squirrels and birds. This is a pretty interesting place!!!

July 12: This morning I explored Mammoth Hot Springs. It is a huge area where minerals are carried to the ground surface by hot water and deposited there. As a result there is terrace after terrace of rock, mostly white with some yellow and orange colors. There are wooden stairs to walk all over the place and one can walk and climb
Beryl SpringBeryl SpringBeryl Spring

The first geyser spring I saw in Yellowstone. The colors are beautiful and the water is very clear and very hot!
about five miles to see everywhere. There was a storm brewing and I got some good pictures of the terraces with the storm clouds. I cut my exploration short and got back to the RV before the rain hit. The rest of the day I explored the geyser basins. The day was cold. We had temps in the 30's last night and today in the high 40's. The cool temps made a lot of steam from the hot springs and geysers. None of the geysers erupted while I was nearby.

There were several times that I got caught up in car jams. People spot wild animals and park their cars all over the place to get a better look and get pictures. One time it was a bear. I got a grainy image of him, but at least I got him. Thank God for my 20x zoom camera! Another time there were buffalo. At one place an young elk bull was resting in a pasture. He let a bunch of people, me included, get pretty close for pictures. Near the end of the day I went out the park entrance on the Montana side to get gas and say
GeysersGeysersGeysers

No, it isn't a forest fire; it is geysers. Believe it or not, this picture was taken in color! The mineral waters and heat tend to kill all foliage and bleach the area around it.
I'd been to Montana!

Today is my sister's birthday. Happy Birthday, Joy.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mud Bath Anyone?Mud Bath Anyone?
Mud Bath Anyone?

Boiling mud. Another picture taken in color, not black and white. What you see is the real color of the mud.
Storm Clouds over Mammoth Hot SpringsStorm Clouds over Mammoth Hot Springs
Storm Clouds over Mammoth Hot Springs

You can see there was quite a storm coming into the area. I beat it back to the RV. It didn't last very long.
Yellowstone BuffaloYellowstone Buffalo
Yellowstone Buffalo

I saw several of these throughout the park.
Young ElkYoung Elk
Young Elk

He was very passive and didn't seem to mind people getting fairly close. A park ranger had to direct traffic there were so many cars.


18th November 2009

Beautiful
Absolutely love that Elk photo--what kind of lens on your camera did you use?
18th November 2009

You got some really awesome pictures! They're magazine worthy. I'e always wanted to go to Wyoming.

Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb