Chapter 30 Travels with Cali


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
November 17th 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Top of Yellowstone FallsTop of Yellowstone FallsTop of Yellowstone Falls

Notice how green the water is. Also notice the people on the viewing platform right by the river. You'll get an idea of the size of the falls.
Chapter 30 Travels With Cali

July 13: Today I visited the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and the Yellowstone Falls. I have noticed that northern rivers seem to have green water. Yellowstone certainly does. I took several pictures of these falls, one overlooking the top of the falls and several as it rushes down through the Canyon. At one spot I decided to walk down to a ledge about halfway down the canyon. I guess I didn't see the sign that said how far it was and how steep it was. Needless to say, I was pretty exhausted by the time I went down and came back up!!

I spent most of the rest of the day driving and looking instead of any more walking! I drove through some of the high passes with snow still on the ground and saw several other waterfalls. Yellowstone has several of those, but not as many big ones as Yosemite. Saw people fly fishing in several rivers. The wild flowers all all over the place and just beautiful. I took some pictures of wild iris. As I drove back into the camp area there were a couple of female elk and
Quite a climb!Quite a climb!Quite a climb!

These steps were near the bottom of one hike to get closer to the Yellowstone River. The upper overlook is at the top of the pinnacle! Yes, I walked down and back up, then collapsed!!
their little ones grazing on the median in the road!

Cali—Mommy sure moves our home in a funny way. Sometimes we move for a long time, but other times we stop and start a lot. Today we did a lot of that. I get tired watching here get in and out, in and out of our house. I wonder what she does sometimes, getting in and out like that. Oh well, I'm used to it, so I just go back to sleep. I don't try to get out, 'cause I figure she's not going to be gone very long!

July 14: Cali and I packed up the RV and headed south. I intended to stop at the Yellowstone Lodge and Old Faithful and tour that site. Unfortunately, since this is peak time for the Park, the area around Old Faithful was packed. It looked like the whole world had come here today. I drove around all the parking lots, and there are a lot of them, and couldn't find a parking place. I couldn't even get near the geyser. I decided to skip it and drove on to Tetons National Park.

The Grand Tetons are breathtaking.
Upper Yellowstone FallsUpper Yellowstone FallsUpper Yellowstone Falls

This is the view of the falls I got from hiking down to the viewing platform.
Of course, this time of year there isn't too much snow on them, but they are beautiful anyway. I had forgotten there is a huge lake at the foot of the eastern slope of the mountains. There were a few people swimming, but I imagine the water was still pretty cold. I camped the night right on the lake.

July 15: I drove around the Park today. There isn't really much to see here besides the lake and the mountains. It is a fairly narrow strip of a park. It is beautiful, though. I exited the Park at the Southeastern exit and stopped at Dubois to spend the night. There was an RV park on the river. The scenery is quite a change from the Tetons. This area has red bluffs and flatter land.

July 16: I spent the day driving across Wyoming down to Rawlings. This part of Wyoming doesn't have much to see. Kind of reminded me of West Texas only at a higher level. I did see my first pronghorn antelope and stopped to take pictures. One was right on the road, but by the time I got turned around, the herd was off a
Yellowstone River and CanyonYellowstone River and CanyonYellowstone River and Canyon

Spectacular views of the river and canyon were everywhere if one wanted to hike down and up!
ways. Used my 20 zoom again, but they were not as clear as I would like. When I got to Rawlings, I pulled into a Flying J Plaza to dry camp for the night. This parking lot was not very big, but this was the busiest place I have ever parked. Sleeping was out the window. Between a nearby railroad track with a train every hour; about 50 big rigs with motors on and diesel smell; two busy highways and multiple traffic in and out of the station I was awake a lot.

Cali—Yeah, when Mommy's awake, so am I!! (She eats some good stuff at night!)

What a night. Come dawn I'm out of here and off to Colorado!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Wild IrisWild Iris
Wild Iris

Some of the beautiful wildflowers in Yellowstone.
Tame elkTame elk
Tame elk

These elk were on the median at a busy Yellowstone Center.
Grand TetonsGrand Tetons
Grand Tetons

The Tetons from the Wyoming side.
Tetons topsTetons tops
Tetons tops

Close up of Mt. Grand Teton and Mt. Moran in the Grand Tetons National Park.
Pronghorn antelopePronghorn antelope
Pronghorn antelope

There was a herd of about seven of these near the road, including a couple of young ones. I never could get a clear shot of the kids, though


18th November 2009

Wow
Breath-taking photos...absolutely beautiful

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb