Chapter 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mrs. Santa Mrs. Santa Mrs. Santa

I caught a glimpse of Mrs Santa running errands in Grapevine, Texas.
Dec. 16 Dan came home from the hospital today. It’s very cold and windy, but he said he was glad to be home. (Home is their RV.) Danette and I stayed in the house, baking and icing cookies most of the day. I haven’t done that in years. It was a good day for baking!

Dec. 18 Tarena, her husband Ward, her daughter Tiffany, Danette and I went to a Christmas show called “The Magic of Christmas” . It had Christmas songs and a magician for an MC. I enjoyed it. I especially liked the town of Grapevine, where it was held. It was beautifully decorated everywhere and had several animated scenes in a central park area. We went back the next day to see more of the town and take pictures.

Sam--Marty stayed away all night. She hadn’t done that before. I was a little worried, but not too much. It was cold outside so I stayed in, snuggled under the pillows again. I wonder what she does when she is gone so much?

Dec. 20 Tarena and I went to see “The Nutcracker” ballet. It was a wonderful production and the set was outstanding, as
Christmas LightsChristmas LightsChristmas Lights

This tree was one of many gorgeous, decorated trees in a park in Farmer's Branch, where Danette lives.
were the beautiful costumes. I like to try to make this ballet a Christmas tradition for me.

During these days before Christmas we drove various places looking at Christmas decorations and lights, as well as doing our pre-Christmas shopping and present wrapping. I am taking a lot of pictures and really enjoying myself as a whole. During one of these trips we stopped at a glass blowing shop. They offered the opportunity to make your own blown-glass ornament, so, naturally, I jumped at the chance! The professionals heated the glass which I then got to roll in some colored glass of my choice. The glass blower helping me told me how to hold the rod with the molten glass while I dipped and rolled. He then told me to blow on the glass with my breath, which I did. He grinned, then, and said I was a “glass blower”. The he and his assistant rolled and shaped the glass, actually blowing into the tube, until my ball shaped ornament was finished. That was quite a thrill, as well as a neat souvenir for my visit.

Dec 21. Joyce and I went to church, then most of the
Jack-in-the-boxJack-in-the-boxJack-in-the-box

More of the many, many wonderful Christmas light displays in the Dallas area.
family arrived for the holiday dinner at Danettes. She had brought out her fancy Christmas dishes and the house looked so festive with all the decorations.

During these days before Christmas we drove various places looking at Christmas decorations and lights, as well as doing our pre-Christmas shopping and present wrapping. I am taking a lot of pictures and really enjoying myself as a whole.

Dec. 24 We went to Tiffany and Ryan’s for Christmas Eve. All of us were there and we had lasagna for supper. The guys watched football on Ryan’s big TV. He is quite the sports fan. Arnie would have enjoyed this gathering.


Advertisement



13th January 2009

Great entry
Once again so glad you shared your experiences...but aww...you shouldn't leave Sam so long...hey he is your pal now...hugs to you...Melanie, your number one fan....go girl!!
17th January 2009

NIce entry
Gee what memories..it's used to be a real tradition of the family when I was a kid to see The Nutcracker faithfully every single Christmas time. And saw it at Lincoln Center to boot. That photo of the tree with the lights is beautiful
18th January 2009

You sure are busy!
You've done so much! I'm glad to hear you are having such a good time. You make my life look very sluggish! lol
1st February 2009

Fun
I always wanted to learn how to 'glass blow'. I saw it done in Silver Dollar City near Branson, Missouri, but I had never done it before. I'm so glad Christmas was such a good time for you.

Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb