Can I have some cheese for my whine?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Twin Lakes Twin Lakes Twin Lakes

The clouds are so much closer here!

Time



One week to go. One looooong week. I've found (at least today) that while it feels like I'm doing a lot, I must be doing all this stuff at hyperspeed- no matter how much I do, only a little time passes. Who knows, it could be the coffee, but I think it's just time playing a wicked little game; why can't this happen when I'm studying for finals?

But enough whining.

Iceland and other things



Good luck to all my friends already in school and to all of you that start classes today at Tufts! Wish I could be there with you. I'm keeping busy researching all the little things; cell phones, classes, hostels, and Iceland. I saw Top Gear last night (awesome british car show- if you have BBC watch it, even if you don't care about cars 8PM Mondays) and they were racing around the Ring Road testing beautiful convertibles. It made me want to go to Iceland so bad. It's this stunning country basically full of geology- a volcano under a glacier? yes please! Expect a journal from Reykjavik in the next few months if I can manage it.

For those of you that were worried with me about those infernal bedding packs- no worries, I do have sheets, and I'm sure that just takes a weight off all of your minds... riiiight Currently my biggest predicament is getting around my room; all of my clothing for the trip being laid out for packing purposes. My poor roommates Rosa and Sapna know exactly what I'm talking about. I'm trying to avoid the shipping disaster of earlier this year getting things home from Tufts. I plan on traveling by the motto "pack half of what you think you need, and twice as much money" Cross your fingers that it all works out. This week is going to be a lot of family stuff before the big trip, and my general panic attacks as professors over there fail to get back to me about classes. Darn. Whining again.

Colorado



In order to forestall the inevitable whine that is building up, I think I'll talk about happier times. If you're wondering what the heck is with the photos- I just got back from visiting David in Colorado, and the editing software just kind of puts the pictures where it feels like it. I'd never seen such a beautiful place. I now see why everyone from the west coast calls my lovely Appalachians "hills". I had an amazing time meeting his family and exploring the area. We visited Vail, Glenwood Springs, and Independence Pass, and hiked in some of the loveliest country I've ever been in. I now know why people complain of the elevation difference, it certainly makes a huge difference in the ability to skip up the mountain like a goat (David) and struggling up the rocks (me)- or maybe I'm just out of shape. Nah, Lets blame it on the elevation. It was also the perfect place for me to be a total geek about the rocks. I'd learned about so much of it in class that seeing it was really cool.

To spend a whole week there was incredible, but it's going to be so hard.... argh. whining again. if you were here, dear reader, you would be free to slap me.

Thank you to everybody that sent your addresses, I'll be sending you postcards. (if you haven't there's still time: hint hint) I'll be able to tell you my address as soon as I move in. Thanks for reading all this way, you'll be the few that didn't give up in disgust screaming "dear god girl you're going to Scotland, stop being such a drama queen!" The next entry will be from the Land of Scots and will be far more entertaining I'm sure! Please feel free to leave comments!

Next time: people with funny accents, small kitchens, great music, silly names (Snizort), and good times.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

TrailTrail
Trail

among the aspens
Fossils Fossils
Fossils

Someone please tell me if they're trace fossils and what are they?
At spouting rockAt spouting rock
At spouting rock

Trying to fill the water bottle. It was an epic battle. Man v. waterfall
Glenwood canyonGlenwood canyon
Glenwood canyon

I was terrified at this part.


3rd September 2008

The first thought that popped into my head when I heard you went to CO: now she'll she know what real mountains are.
4th September 2008

snnnnnnniiiii-zort!
Here's the comment you were expecting from your mom about your messy room... Yeah, consider it done. Love the pictures--can't wait to see some from Edinburgh, much as we'll miss you! Slainte!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb