Getting Ready


Advertisement
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Less than a month before I start my big adventure overseas. Or to be more specific: 22 days 9 hours 41 minutes. It's exhilarating and terrifying... (lets see just how many study abroad cliches I can use) Today I got the information about where I'm going to be living. It's Warrender Park Crescent. The link below has all the details, and a picture, the outside looks lovely- nothing like Tufts! I'm sharing a flat with four other people and we all have single rooms, and a kitchen and common area. I had to do the housing contract online, and it pretty much says that the landlord is GOD and I can't decorate, including none of that blue sticky stuff- I'm going to have to get very creative. We don't move in until the 13th at least, IFSA (the program that I'm traveling with) has an orientation for the first 3 days to a week that we're there, including a home stay. Should be good, but very very busy. I'm leaving on the ninth of September from Charlotte, and arriving in Edinburgh on the 10th.

Right now its a lot of frantic preparation involving the little things (do I have bedding? do I have more than one set of bedding? have I even ordered bedding? DEAR GOD WHAT WILL I DO WITHOUT SHEETS??) and the not so little things like getting into classes required for my major back home. Loads of e-mails and calls, organizing things into folders, taking them out and putting them into other folders, and sticky notes on my mac. (Oh yeah, I got a new computer after I convinced my parents that my old one was in fact a psychopathic nutcase) I'll be updating periodically before as new information about orientation comes up, and of course afterwards. I'll put pictures up here and some on Facebook, as well as updating my facebook status to let you know when I update, but in case I'm my typically hairbrained self and forget: please please PLEASE subscribe to this, and I'll do the same for your study abroad/ study here adventures! I desperately want to keep in touch and hear all about what's going on in your lives... another cliche, but I really mean it. I'll send out more requests for addresses and that kind of thing, I do love sending and getting letters and postcards.

That's all for now folks!

Slainte

http://www.accom.ed.ac.uk/accom_info/offers/0607_weboffer_Warrender_Park_Crescent.htm

Advertisement



18th August 2008

My first
I've never blogged....is this getting to you, MB? Who is Slainte????
18th August 2008

Hey Patty! It did get to me, Slainte is Gaelic for 'Cheers!' Glad you found me!
19th August 2008

Hi...you don't know me...but I just joined TravelBlog and I came across your blog. I teach 7th grade world geography in Wisconsin, but I spent a semester abroad in Scotland when I was in college so I was drawn to your blog. You are going to have an AMAZING adventure. It has been 10 years since my experience and I still remember everything...enjoy the ride!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb