"What we talk about when we talk about love"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
October 14th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hollows, Sweeps, Catches, Returns, Grips, Chalks, Pointed Toes. Most importantly: Heps.

What I thought was bystander vocabulary, crept from vicarious to vivacious last week as I took a giant leap forward (literally) to share in my love’s passion. A surprise present to him. Not expecting to impress, just not to embarrass.

And after the albeit enjoyable ordeal, I now - in addition to how coffee addicts operate - am also starting to understand how women go on to birth second children when they’ve experienced the pain of the first. There’s a name for that phenomenon that escapes me. But I’m getting how it works. For after my first fly, there was no question I was climbing that ladder again. Neck condition or no neck condition.

I was shaking terribly on my first climb up: bare feet on October Vermont ground or sheer fright? Who’s to say? I like to deal with the what-if worst case scenario to calm the nerves: the most frightful that could happen in my mind was peeing in my pants. I decided that I was among friends, so who cared and up I continued.

Moments earlier on the ground, I had kinesthetically and calisthenically prepared my body for flight, checked and rechecked directions with my wonderful coaches Arli & Kiki - and tried to casually walk over to the ladder and begin my climb - something no one ever prepped me for. A sensation and hurdle in and of itself that I hadn’t thought about.

Halfway up, I started second-guessing the entire thing. I crawled into the cool blue sky: treetops disappearing. The sun got stronger as my body emerged from the coniferous and deciduous canopy. I kept going, hand over hand, stubby toes gripping cold metal bars. Aware that my ladder form was no 6.0.

Then came the other thing no one talked to me about: getting from the ladder out onto the board. While hovering in mid-air, you need to take a daring one-footed step. I felt like Indiana Jones - if only I could have stopped shaking enough to conjure up that thematic music to pump my blood, but my teeth chattering had their own rhythm.

Honestly, once up there, I don’t remember much physically or mentally aside from badgering John, the guy who was helping me on the board, with tons of clarifying questions. I can remember thinking before my first take-off: Julien better be appreciating this down there on the ground! I could only hear my coach’s voice, and could only picture Julien’s face - as I wasn’t about to look down. Nor was I about to back down; I was suddenly ready for this personal challenge.

Upon hearing the “Hep”, off I jumped. Feet together, pointed. Shoulders engaged. Pretty composed for a first swing if I may say so myself (it’s what the coaches said, anyways).

I do remember smiling, broadly, on my first swing. And on my second, having a moment of worry as I couldn’t make the knee-hang and the stalled momentum crooked my neck. And on my third swing, floating and arching upside-down - feeling almost weightless and tremendously good, and accomplished.

One needs things like this once in a while, an ultimate challenge, especially something over the past 10 years I would have never thought myself capable of given my muscular struggles.

The confidence surfaced the next morning, when I took Abu commandingly alongside me like a Best In Show. I’m pretty certain my camel strut came from my hot stuff on the trapeze. I won’t
"into position""into position""into position"

second, successful attempt at getting into the first position for the knee-hang
proselytize - but people, everyone can try once.

I write this two days later, and I’ll admit, the level of soreness is not exactly acute. Once is enough: it’s just not worth the risk or the pain. I doubt I’ll do it again. Ever. Not until next week, anyways.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

blurred weightlessnessblurred weightlessness
blurred weightlessness

you can get an idea of the speed here (or an idea of lack of photo skillz)
things are looking upthings are looking up
things are looking up

safely on the net, i was ready for more...and pretty damn proud of myself. now, getting down off the net...something else no one prepared me for...
frolic in the foliagefrolic in the foliage
frolic in the foliage

my caramel beast looks great, eh?


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb