Journey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Snow CappedSnow CappedSnow Capped

The mountains on Salt Lake's skyline
I thought I would condense my trip from St. George to Salt Lake, Salt Lake to Roberts, Roberts to Butte and Butte to Shelby into this one entry because I didn’t take a lot of photos.

After leaving St. George the scenery started to change about 75 miles out, I started to loose the big red cliffs I started to climb and fall into big wide valleys. All the available land being utilized. Traveling this far north it has been interesting to see the how the climate influences farming. In southern Utah, the fields have been mowed and bailed (although they don’t’ use the big round bails that Texas farmers do) Then as I traveled north the fields are only now starting to be mowed, and the farmers use the oblong bailing system. The closer I got to Salt Lake the flatter the land became, although there is a range of mountains on the Salt Lake skyline that still have some impacted snow.

The trip from Salt Lake to Roberts, Idaho was pretty much the same. I traveled through a lot of very attractive farm land. Idaho is known for it’s great potato crop, and there are acres
IdahoIdahoIdaho

Farming land
and acres of them planted.
I can certify that no “meat and potato guy” in the United State is going to go hungry this winter! What I did find was that some of the information signs in Montana were very amusing.

I arrived in Montana at the same time as a new cold front! The temperature in Butte was a very pleasant 76 degrees on Sunday, and as I left early Monday morning I was happy with 45 ° although I did wear a sweatshirt! But as I approached Helena, Montana the wind came up, and I spent the next two hundred miles fighting the wind, sometimes gusting at 40 mph. I arrived in Shelby, just 36 miles from the Canadian border, very happy to get off the highway. I'm certainly not the only one, I am joined by at least ten other rv's including five other Texas vehicles. The weather forecast for tomorrow is better and I am excited to be going into Canada and on to Medicine Hat and Jayne and family.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Idaho Welcome BoardIdaho Welcome Board
Idaho Welcome Board

Self Explanitory
NorthwardNorthward
Northward

The road north
MontanaMontana
Montana

In the distance
PinesPines
Pines

Just a few Montana Pines
InfoInfo
Info

Only in Montana
Montana Board InfoMontana Board Info
Montana Board Info

The board reads "Along in the early 1840's Americans were like they are now--seething to go somewhere. It got around that Oregon was quite a place. The Iowa people hadn't located California yet. A wagon trail pulled out and made it on the Oregon trail. Then everyone broke out in a rash to be going west. They packed prairie schooners with their household goods, gods and garden tools. Outside of Indians, prairie fires, cholora, famine, cyclones, cloud bursts, and quick sand, snow slides and blizzards, they had a torerably blithe and gay trip. When gold was found in Montana some of them forked off from the main party and surged along this trail aiming to reach the rainbows end. It was mostly one way traffic but if they met a back-tracking outfit there was plenty of room to turn out.


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb