Spinning . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 27th 2006
Published: December 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After 2 hours of sleep, late flights and a sketchy landing, I made it to the ship yesterday. Everything has just been a big blur since then. My head is spinning, quite literally. So many people asked if I'd get seasick, seeing as I get sick from just about everything else. I'm not seasick, but the motion of the ship is giving me a near constant feeling of vertigo. Last night, between the dizziness and lack of sleep, I felt drunk. And now my head just feels spinning with information.

My actual work does not seem to be overly complex. Running the activities and interacting with the teens is going to be a breeze. It's simply what I always do. It's the system of this ship and this company that is the challenge. Making sure I'm dressed properly, where I can and can't be, what I can and can't do. finding my way through the ship (I have an easier time with the guest areas than with the crew "short cuts"), remembering all of the people I meet, and logistics like where to go for photocopying, who to talk to about getting food and venues for my program, these are the things that are jam packing my brain now.

The last time I started a job that felt this extreme was with Keating. I remember sitting in the Keating office and being told about the "K-Look", the golden rules, the endless paperwork and of course the inch-thick manual of information to memorize! But I wanted that job so badly and was thrilled to have it. I certinly managed okay considering I've been part of the training for the last 3 years. Knowing that is comforting. I can manage this too.

Tara is the Club O2 Director who I am taking over from. I'm lucky because I have two cruises with her. She's been doing this since Club O2 began (almost 2 years ago). If it weren't for her, I'd be completely lost, clueless and mostly helpless. I hope I'm not being too much of a pain, always having the newbie follow her around.

I don't have anything particularly "exciting" to write abou. We're just sailing and I'm in no way at a point to start just relaxing and enjoying life on the ship. For now, I'm just trying to survive the ship!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.527s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 32; qc: 133; dbt: 0.3605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb