Preparation


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Signal Mountain Lodge viewSignal Mountain Lodge viewSignal Mountain Lodge view

This beauty is the view from the beach at Signal Mountain Lodge. Its worth staying for it alone.
Grand Teton is one of those parks where the best parts are far from any road.

To truly experience it, one must get far into the wilderness, with peaks all around.

I planned to backpack tomorrow.

Today was a day for getting ready.

I had to gather lots of gear, and buy the few things I was missing.

Thankfully, finding hiking gear is never a problem in Jackson Hole.

In addition to the specialty shops, the local grocery store carried freeze dried backpacking food.

I needed a bear proof canister, which the ranger stations rent for free.

Finally, I needed a permit, which was surprisingly easy to get.

I found the reason while getting trail conditions.

The lower parts of the canyons were clear, but the upper parts where people can camp were covered in snow.

I’m a New England native, so I figured I could handle it.



I spent the night at Signal Mountain Lodge.

I stayed here because I wanted a real bed before my long hike.

The rooms are average; the location is far beyond that.

The lodge sits on a lake with a perfect view of the Tetons!

All
Signal Mountian Lodge viewSignal Mountian Lodge viewSignal Mountian Lodge view

Another part of the incredible view from outside Signal Mountain Lodge
accommodation with a roof in Jackson Hole is expensive, but this lodge is more tolerable than many.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb