Picture Perfect Day in Grand Teton National Park


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Teton 01Teton 01Teton 01

Moran Reflection View
Saturday September 19, 2009

Shaddy emitted a low growl from somewhere under the covers when I arose before the crack of dawn. I dressed, took my camera gear to The Beast and throttled up in order to be in the field at first light. I imagine there were low growls from under many covers in the campground when the diesel engine fired up with its own cacophonous growl.

There was already a crowd of vehicles and photographers when I arrived at Moran reflection view. Tripods topped with digital cameras were erected all over the side of the hill, attended by folk gazing at Mt. Moran, their backs to the east. There was a hushed reverence for what was about to happen at first light.

“First pink, first pink” the fellow to my right called out.

“Ahhhh,” someone else exclaimed!

You would think a swarm of crickets had arrived with all the clicking and clacking going on. Memory cards were filling up at a rapid rate.

“Shot of the day,” I cried out just to juice up the excitement!

Click, click, click, click, click, I fired off a sequence of five shots, moving the tripod
Teton 02Teton 02Teton 02

View from highway east of park.
head left to right to capture a sequence of images for a pano.

“Be still my heart,” a woman behind me exclaimed.

“I’m shooting RAW.”

“Oh my goodness, we got ourselves a commando,” a fellow, two tripods down acknowledged.

After the sortie of the morning, I returned to camp for breakfast, a cup of joe and a brief nap.

Nan, Shad and I set our for a picture taking day in Jackson Hole. We drove all over the place, and visited just about every view point there was. Shaddy was very patient with it all; this stopping and getting out with cameras and tripod while he protects The Beast is nothing new to him.

What a good day we enjoyed. Tomorry is a rest and relaxation day; and a clothes washing day. I might take a couple more photos. The aspen are quaking and there might be some good shots.

More to come.

Paddy




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Teton 03Teton 03
Teton 03

Snake River view.


20th September 2009

Stunning Photos
I am in awe - what a beautiful site. Thanks for the update. Keep on keepin on, but keep a keen eye out for those deer. Love, Marty
20th September 2009

Tetons
Magnificent
21st September 2009

Tetons Remembered
Gads, the last time I saw the Tetons must have been the summer of 1960. We drove to my great-grandmother's 90th birthday in Georgetown, CO and passed through this magnificent scenery. It is a sight for the eyes!

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb