The Large Breasts


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That's what Grand Tetons means. Or something like that. I don't speak French but Jake did research on it and that's what he tells us. How whoever named them decided to call them that I don't know. Doesn't seem to be much resemblance. What they do resemble is another little slice of heaven. Ohmygosh, I love the Tetons. Here, I could live. Mountains everywhere, beautiful lakes and rivers, no humidity...aahhh! Of course, there is the pesky drop of snow in the winter but everyplace has a down side right? I guess I would just have to learn to ski. But for now I will enjoy it on my own two feet. And another's 4 feet. Pique your interest? Let me tell you about it first. The boys were starting to get a little reluctant about going white water rafting in Colorado. They would much rather do a scenic float but even that was too much work. They saw that trail riding was available in the Tetons and were both really excited about it. I then gave them the choice of going rafting or trail riding and, of course, they chose riding. Now those of you who really know us will know how big a deal it was for us. But we did it. For two hours. And besides immensely sore behinds we were none the worse for wear. Still, a very big step.
Now, there didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to putting the horse and rider together...just luck of the draw it seemed. So Steve rode Tiny, Jake rode Merle, CJ had Scooter, and I was given Nicki: Spawn of Satan. Really. Oh, how I hate that horse. And by the looks of her ears and eyes the feeling was mutual. We started out okay but she was the equivalent of an adolescent boy...she would not stop eating. So the wrangler said to pull her head up to keep her from eating. He assumed I knew what the heck that meant but apparently I was doing it all wrong 'cause it was really making Nikki mad. Then when we stopped for a few minutes to regroup and I tried to get closer to CJ and Scooter, she started walking squirrely away from the group and I ended up even farther away from my guys. I ended up behind Sir Fartsalot. I don't think that's the name actually given him at birth but, Jeez Louise, it should have been. I didn't know horses could be so gassy! I don't think anyone else had nearly so much trouble with their horses as I did, but I don't think it can all be attributed to operator error! Anyway, both boys loved every minute of it and consider the trail ride the best part of the whole vacation. Hmmm. Who woulda' figured that? Both Jake and CJ have only been on a horse one other time and they were both led around by someone. So this was the first time for both of them to ride alone (if being part of a trail ride where the horses are trained to just follow along behind one another can be called riding alone). CJ fell in love and really wants to ride again soon. As hard as it is to be completely okay with that, we will be if that's what he wants to do. As for me? If I never see another saddle and stirrup I will be a happy camper. Or just maybe if I never see another Nikki. The best part of trail riding for me? I GOT TO SEE A MOOSE!!!
The place we were going to ride was really out in the middle of nowhere and we had to drive down goat trails to get there. We passed by a small stream and there, in the water, was a moose! A female. By herself. It was so awesome! We were running late getting to the trail ride so we couldn't stop and watch her but I did, at least, see one. Very cool. We didn't see much other wildlife in the Tetons. Several elk, a buffalo or two, and lots of picas, which are little chipmunk looking critters. Oh, and we also saw a woodpecker, which is not a big deal, but when we walked by the tree it was on I heard a bunch of chirping, looked up and saw a nest hole. That's where all the chirping was coming from...the babies. Another very cool moment.
The boys were still kind of tired of hiking but I did talk them into a three mile hike with the promise of being able to swim. (What they didn't know was that the place they would swim was about the same place as where we started. So we walked a three mile loop just to swim ¼ mile from the starting point.) Everywhere we went there were warnings posted that we were in bear country so the boys were whistling and talking and singing as we walked to make sure we didn't come up on a bear unexpectedly. The views were magnificent. The Tetons are so incredibly beautiful. There was still plenty of snow at the summits and they were everything I could have hoped for. Wild flowers were blooming everywhere, birds were singing, fish jumping in the streams....I'm telling you...heaven.
When we made it to a place where the boys could swim they waded in without hesitation because right at the edge it felt pretty good. A few feet out though and they could no longer feel their legs! The stream came from mountain snow run-off and it couldn't have been more than 55 degrees or so. They didn't swim for long but had such a great time while they did. And the scenery was beautiful. I saw three bald eagles as we sat there. Chalk up another very cool.
We all had a really good time walking around in Jackson, too. The town is really very tourist oriented with streets and streets of shops. A couple more items were purchased, of course. We were staying in a cabin that was part of a hotel complex. Pretty well equipped I thought. Very comfortable for two nights. The boys were able to stay up late watching tv and could check email so they were happy. When I got them up at the crack of dawn in Yellowstone to go to Lamar Valley I promised I wouldn't make them do that again. And I didn't make them, but I offered, the opportunity to get up early to hike to Taggert Lake. Steve and Jake met someone on the Old Faithful Inn tour who told them that it was a great place to go to see wildlife and to have solitude. They laughed at me. Laughed! In order to sleep late. I still don't get it. What do 13- and 14-year-old boys know anyway? About as much as a 53-year-old man, obviously. Steve didn't really want to get up and go either. And I would have been perfectly happy to go by myself and let them all sleep, really! But Steve wouldn't let me go alone. I think he was afraid I would get eaten by a bear and how would he explain that to Miss V? So he dragged himself out of bed and got dressed. We left the cabin around 5:30 and started at the trailhead at 6:00. It was incredible. So quiet except for the birds chirping and the bubbling of the stream as it passed over rocks. Steve had grabbed one of the boy's walking sticks and hit it on rocks and trees every now and then to let the bears know we were around. Funny how you don't think of that being a way of life for some people. They sell bells you can put on your shoes to jngle when you hike. Odd. Anyway we made it to the lake without running into any wild animals (except the picas) and the tour guy was right. The lake was as still as could be and reflected the mountains like a mirror. I can't tell you how awesome it was and the pictures just don't do it justice. I could have sat there all day. But the boys were back at the cabin and would be wanting to eat when they woke up. So, reluctantly, we headed back. While the trail up was mostly through forest, the trail back (it was a 4 mile loop) was equal stretches of forest and mountain meadow. Again, some of the most beautiful views imaginable. I just can't help but feel so completely blessed to be seeing, and doing, and going the way we are.
We packed a lot into our two days in the Tetons. I could easily have spent several more. I do hope to be able to go back someday. There are so many things we didn't get a chance to do. A lake cruise. A wildlife viewing ranger program. The shuttle boat on Jenny Lake. Hiking to Inspiration Point. All that and take in Jackson, too? Much too much for two days. But, it was time to go and we had a decision to make.
In the original trip plans we would leave Jackson and drive to Canon City, Colorado to spend the night. The next day would be rafting, spend the night in Canon City again ( I figured we'd be too tired to get in the car and drive after rafting) and head home the next day. So we were now a day ahead since we wouldn't be rafting. After a family meeting, the boys decided they would rather cut the trip short by a day than to make plans to spend another day somewhere else. So tomorrow we'll head home. We'll take three days to do it driving around 7-7.5 hours each day and hopefully allowing some time to hang out (and swim) at the end of the day. It's bittersweet, you know? I have so loved seeing what we have and doing what we have. It has truly been a wonderful trip. But I miss my bed. I miss my Biscuit. And I miss my girls like crazy! I haven't gone this long without seeing them since they went to Florida for the holidays. Yep, three days and I see my babies. Counting down now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



18th June 2007

All the pictures are awesome... I do believe I see a WINNER!! So glad to have yall back. Talk more later.

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb