preparing the Miata for the journey


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Vancouver
August 4th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

overall trip map - Northbound


The goal: Travel to Alaska (solo) from Vancouver, Washington (and back again) in my 1999 Miata; just for the adventure! The Miata is clearly not an ideal vehicle for this journey, but I've always enjoyed driving the car on the open road and I believe that the entire trip will be more open/vivid/scenic/interesting from the perspective of a convertible sports car (top down whenever possible!).

The general plan is to drive "about" 300 miles daily, allowing time to stop and take in the sights. I'll spend most of the journey in Canada (British Columbia and Yukon Territory) and about a week in Alaska.

To prepare the Miata, I've installed a radiator grill (to protect the radiator from rocks), installed plastic headlight protectors and a bra (I hate car bras but I'm hoping that this thing will protect the paint somewhat). The journey will be almost entirely on paved roads but there will be about 50-100 miles of gravel roads and there are many construction areas where you have to drive on rough rock. I have new tires and will be carrying a full-sized spare tire (which will probably have to ride in the passenger seat because the trunk only has room for a small "donut" emergency tire and wheel). I'll also have a few spare parts like fan belts, fuses, air cleaner, radiator hoses, bulbs, etc.

Here's the general itinerary (subject to change):

8/25: Vancouver, WA to Whidbey Island, WA (staying with friends Ed and Judy Chittester)
8/26: Whidbey, Island to Winthrop, WA (via the North Cascades Highway)
8/27: Winthrop, WA to Vernon, BC (stopping to visit friends Paul and Pat Martin)
8/28: Vernon, BC to Clearwater, BC
8/29: Clearwater, BC to Prince George, BC
8/30: Prince George, BC to Smithers, BC
8/31: Smithers, BC to Prince Rupert, BC (ferry terminal for Inland Passage ferry)
9/1: Prince Rupert, BC to Ketchikan, AK (via ferry)
9/2: Ketchikan, AK to Juneau, AK (via ferry)
9/3: Juneau, AK to Skagway, AK (via ferry) continuing by car to Haines Junction, YT
9/4: Haines Junction, YT to Tok, AK
9/5: Tok, AK to Palmer, AK
9/6-9/10: Palmer, AK home base with day trips around Alaska
9/11: Palmer, AK to Seward, AK
9/12: Seward, AK day trips
9/13-9/22: Seward, AK to Vancouver, WA (route to be determined)

Curiously, this itinerary will likely have me crossing the Canadian border SIX times during the journey.

I'll be updating this blog during my journey; every day if possible, although I suspect that I'll occasionally be staying in places that don't have Internet access (like on the ferry in the Inland Passage). In any event, I'll post new updates as soon as possible. If you don't see any new updates for five consecutive days, please contact the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or the Alaska State Troopers and give them my last known location. :-)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb