Seattle/Vashon/Coffee/Thrift/Discovery/Love


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Driving in Seattle 119 secs
Michael and I are on Vashon Island in King County, Washington. I suppose it IS part of Seattle. We are staying at this hostel called Aye Ranch Hostel and it is more than a hostel. It has Indian Tiki Huts, Camping Grounds, Dormitories, Barn/Game Room/Big TV/Kitchen/Commons/Bathroom/Shower/etc. Basically everything you would ever need! $11 per person to set up your tent for a night. Highly recommended. Lots of good people to be met and have been met by Michael and myself. Right now we are are talking to Mina and Naya right now at the hostel's wifi hotspot!
Last night we were worried because we couldn't find a place to stay. All the other hostel's in Seattle were booked and even the cheap hotels were booked.
Then we decided to call the Ayh Ranch Hostel on Vashon Island. At first we were hesitant, which is why we didn't call earlier, because the only way to Vashon Island is by ferry. No roads or bridges go into Vashon, only the ferry, which you an bring you car onto. The ferry was awesome! It didn't even feel like it was moving. Mostly everyone stayed in their cars, but you were able to walk around on the deck upstairs, which Michael and I did. I don't have pics of it because it was dark and my camera was acting funny (I dropped it - explained in this entry below), but I probably will take some pics on the ferry when we go back.

Early in the morning yesterday we went to Bauhaus Books & Coffee. The flags in the area said Pike/Pine, so it was probably near the intersection of Pike Street and Pine Street. We are able to find our way around Seattle now pretty well!
We walked around 65th Avenue and Roosevelt Way somewhere in Seattle. We went there because there were many Thrift Stores and Consignment shops that we wanted to visit.
We went to Discovery Park and we discovered that it is a very confusing park. We weren't lost, but it was too confusing to find anything. The signs said there were beaches, but all we found were forests.
We may stay here at the Vashon Hostel again tonight. This place is freaking awesome! It is like a fantasy land! I love I love I love!

My camera broke for a while when I dropped it in Discovery Park. It started taking pictures with all these lines going across them and the pictures were really bright. Some of the messed up pictures I put in this blog entry. It was horrible, I thought my camera would never work again. Fortunately, if it isn't working it seems to work after I take the battery out and put it back in. I did this a few times, and it seems to be stable now. It went from being broke like that, then to perfect quality pictures, then to broke again, then back to excellent quality. It seems good now though, thankfully. I should not drop that again. Ever..

We'll be heading to Portland soon!

More pictures here! There is also one video too!!!
- Sean Laurence Coughlin


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



8th September 2008

fun daze!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i like all of your pics and video! I really like the tiki tents, it looks like an old western movie, even with the wagon. I like all of the scenery and I am glad michael has his skate board with him. I can't believe the car was aboard a ferry, awsome!!OH, seattle lost and the EAGLES won!!!!!Im still in cocoa beach, be back in orlando 2morrow!mom*bob

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb